Black screen after Health Screen

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Sabin_Figaro, Jul 31, 2010.

Jul 31, 2010
  1. Sabin_Figaro
    OP

    Member Sabin_Figaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Colombia
    Taken from the Savemiifrii post:

    I have a wii that shows a black screen ffter the health warning. It's 3.4U, it just bricked while playing.

    NO MODCHIP
    NO preloader
    NO bootmii backup since it has bootv2

    There is no banner brick. There is no weird channel installed, only HBC and Neogamma. And they show just fine on the maintenance mode. Heck, I just played some Galaxy on Neogamma. The person that uses this wii is clueless on the hacking scene, does not even have a sd card

    The thing is, it doesn't work without maintenance mode and it's pissing me off.

    And holy shit, it just booted by entering maintenance mode. I can go to the HBC and neogamma.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h0gy8gWC6Dg...feature=related

    It fully works! But I want it to work without that maintenance mode trick, shall I format?

    Updated to 4.2u..... new system menu is up using Clipper's guide.... but only works on maintenance mode wtf black screen after health warning. System menu on options is 4.2u, Maintenance Mode does not show SD card menu, so it's rolling back on a old System Menu?

    Updated using DOPMii

    Updated shop to v19, it shows a white channel on the system menu but it works....

    This is really weird

    UPDATE: Tried the mailbox brick fix, no dice
     


  2. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    If it is working in maintenacne mode, it could be a mail brick. Try-
    Download
    Det1re's Mailbox Brick Fix.
    Or try a system format, which would remove all your saves and channels.
     
  3. OMGLX

    Newcomer OMGLX Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    ...and then tell us if it works, so I can try it again.
     
  4. Sabin_Figaro
    OP

    Member Sabin_Figaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Colombia
    Installed Priiloader, does not work. Still works on Maintenance Mode

    Tried that twice, nothing.

    I have reports that a RESET may fix it. I may need to delete priiloader first and I don't know if it's worth the risk. Also, if I reset I will kill HBC and I don't know if I can use bannerbomb on maintenance mode, or if I may get a full brick.

    If the person wants to take the risk I may do it. But so far it's too much to do.

    Question: Can I delete the shop channel?
     
  5. MLRX

    Member MLRX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    Yes just get anytitledeleter/mod
     
  6. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Do NOT format the wii. All that will do is make it worse. Also, do not remove Priiloader.

    Bannerbomb does not work in maintenance mode since the SD card menu is not available. Indiana Pwns will still work though.

    As for your shop channel, yeah, you can delete it. It's title ID is HABA. You can delete it with AnyTitleDeleter, or get a wad of the shop and uninstall that in wad manager.
     
  7. bwillb

    Member bwillb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    DEFINITELY sounds like a mail brick.
    perhaps go into settings in maintenance mode and make sure WiiConnect24 is off, then reboot normally and see if it boots...
     
  8. Sabin_Figaro
    OP

    Member Sabin_Figaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Colombia
    WiiConnect24's options cannot be accessed on Maintenance mode [​IMG]
     
  9. bwillb

    Member bwillb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    ah thats.... unfortunate... and odd. why give a maintenance mode if you can't maintain the Wii XD
     
  10. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    You don't need to uninstall priiloader to do the format, it should be fine. That caused issue with preloader, but AFAIK the issue is fixed with priiloader. Also, the format will not remove priiloader, so you can use it to reinstall HBC if needed. You have a good chance that the format would fix your issue.

    Your only other option is to reinstall the system ios and system menu, use dop-mii if you like. But this usually does not help when the wii functions in maintenance mode, and it will remove priiloader but dop-mii can restore it for you.
     
  11. Sabin_Figaro
    OP

    Member Sabin_Figaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Colombia
    The only way to restore HBC is thru Bannerbomb and it doesn't work anymore since maintenance mode does not have SD menu, and I'm (Stupidly) on 4.2
     
  12. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    You can reinstall HBC by loading HackMii Installer with Priiloader.

    If for some reason you don't have Priiloader, use SmashStack (for USA consoles), or Indiana Pwns (for USA or PAL consoles).
     
  13. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    hey dude get the wii backup disc 1.31 and load it using priiloader....
    delete there all you have on your wii...
     
  14. Sabin_Figaro
    OP

    Member Sabin_Figaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Colombia
    Is this a dol file or a disc?
     
  15. SonicShadowSilve

    Newcomer SonicShadowSilve Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Phelan CA,
    Country:
    United States
    I think its a disc, hmm maybe dol, because priiloader can only load dol's and elf's n'such. i also got an idea for you to load it, if you can load it up with matenince mode then go to the homebrew channel and install priiloader and load the dol and save ur wii. If its a Disc use savemiifrii to save your wii.
     
  16. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,385
    Country:
    Sweden
    Try to reinstall all the IOSes for your system menu. See if one of them are corrupted.
     
  17. Sabin_Figaro
    OP

    Member Sabin_Figaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Colombia
    Already did. It was on 3.4u and now is on 4.2u thanks to dopmii. No dice
    Savemiifrii it's worthless without a modchip...
     
  18. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Could it not be a missing setting.txt???
     
  19. Sabin_Figaro
    OP

    Member Sabin_Figaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Colombia
    Tell me more good sir
     
  20. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan

    if the wii still boots up, then the setting.txt is still there. the only problem you have is you cannot go to the menu normally.
    while you can still access HBC you can still recover this kind of problem.

    you can load wii backup disc 1.31 using multi boot. you don't need to go to RM to load it there. just install a cios first.

    and never ever remove priiloader, it is the last thing that will save your wii.
     

Share This Page