Bioshock: Upgrade PC or buy a Xbox 360?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by robi, Sep 5, 2007.

Sep 5, 2007
  1. robi
    OP

    Member robi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    France
    Okay, so here is the situation. I'd really like to play Bioshock, and from what I can tell my old PC can't cut it.

    Specs:

    Athlon 64 3700+
    1 GB RAM
    Geforce 6600 256mb pci-E

    I mostly play games on my Wii so I haven't had a need for any upgrade. At this point I was looking to build a new PC and just start from scratch but my iBook G4 gets more use than my desktop does so I didn't want to waste too much money when I could use it to buy an intel MacBook Pro. However, I'm not ready to spend that much money.

    Or I could buy an Xbox360, maybe even mod it.


    Right now I'm thinking about upgrading my video card and getting extra memory, but I still am considering a xbox360, there are a good number of good looking games on there. (thus I'd be one of those Wii60 people I guess)

    If you were in my situation what would you do?
     


  2. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Wii60 is the way to go, especially if you don't use your desktop very often. This way you have a PC, 360, Wii, and Bioshock instead of a PC, Wii, and Bioshock
     
  3. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    thats more expensive though^ Video cards are cheap nowadays and so is ram and harddrives, I would upgrade the PC if you want your a real gamer.
     
  4. cubin'

    Member cubin' GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,866
    Country:
    Australia
    360 would be easier and let you play a hell of a lot of good games coming out. PC upgrade would be cheaper but wouldn't last as long.

    Look at the upcoming list of xbox360 games and see if any interest you. If it's just for bioshock I'd upgrade the PC.

    I've got a AMD 3000+, 1gigRAM, 7800GT and this lets me play bioshock on almost highest settings smoothly. Although the resolution is pretty low.
     
  5. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    Most good 360 games are coming out for PC, I say go with that

    X1950Pro for $140
    2GB of ram $80
    X2 4200+ for $110? (Haven't price checked)

    Your PC will be just as good as the 360
     
  6. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    I would stick with a computer. You can do so much more with it. And you don't have to drag in all of those restrictions.

    I'm personally waiting for the DS version of BioShock. [​IMG]
     
  7. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Bioshock crashed on my PC, many are having this problem too, if you have Vista, BEWARE.

    Get the Steam demo, first.
     
  8. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    I for one am more comfortable using the larger TV to play games than the PC, so the choice would be pretty cut and dried if I had to make it...: get a hdmi enabled gfx card and a big 1080i LCD TV to hook it to [​IMG] (at least I know if my PC goes berserk I won't be waiting 4+ weeks for a possibly faulty repair/replacement).
     
  9. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    The game runs fine on my Vista install. I got it through Steam. Oddly enough, the demo wasn't doing so hot on Vista. For some reason, the sound was cut out when playing in game, but the full game ran just fine...go figure. I'm going to have to say, this is by far one of the best optimized game I've seen in a long time or maybe I'm just to into the game when playing and don't realize the slowdowns...meh.
     
  10. Reduxed

    Member Reduxed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Vancouver baby!!!
    Country:
    Canada
    try it on steam demo first

    (beware this takes tons of space)...
     
  11. cubin'

    Member cubin' GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,866
    Country:
    Australia

    big tv + couch = ownz0r. You get used to controls for FPS after a while.

    PCs can do more but they're more fiddly and if you already have a pretty good PC it won't do much more at all. [​IMG]
     
  12. roguetrip

    Member roguetrip GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    cheaper for a 360 in the long run! but the experience might be better on the PC.

    I played the demo on my PC and ran great!

    System:
    WinXP SP2
    AMD X2 4200+ @ 2.64GHz
    A8N-32SLI Dlx
    2GB DDR400 Mushkin
    2x 7800GT's in SLI 500core/600mem 1.5volt mod
    320gig Seagate 7200.10 Sata 2.0
    21" CRT monitor
    750watts woth of power!

    It never dipped below 30 and had average framerate of 45fps @ 1280x1024 all settings except DX10
     
  13. mooyah

    Member mooyah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, agreed. I played through the 360 version first and it played really well but a mouse and keyboard on PC just controls so much better than analog sticks. If its only for Bioshock, I'd go for a beefed up PC but a modded 360 plays the game too and opens up a whole library of games to you.
     
  14. skarthebloodchild

    Member skarthebloodchild Keep It Old School

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,215
    Location:
    Greece
    Country:
    Greece
    You can still use at 360 mouse and keyboard i think.
    But i would still prefer to update my pc and not buy a 360.
     
  15. stop_loading

    Member stop_loading GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    pc obviously

    with pc you got crysis, with 360 you got RRoD
     
  16. robi
    OP

    Member robi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    France
    Thanks for all the help guys, before I posted this I was asking myself of the forums I visit, which one should I post in? heh

    I ordered my new computer parts tonight. I was really close to getting a 360 but I decided against it in the end. Especially since a lot of 360 games are going to XP/Vista (one good move from microsoft)

    I remembered that back at my parents house my younger sister is using a 1Ghz Pentium 3 (i think) so I figured I could give her my old motherboard/cpu etc.

    For $575 USD I got the following from NewEgg if anyone's interested..

    Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (my old system was socket 939, this is AM2)
    Gigabyte Motherboard
    2 x 1GB DDR2 SD-RAM
    EVGA geforce 8600GTS 512MB
    320GB SATA drive
    BioShock

    plus since it's over 500 dollars I have 6 months to pay it off with "NewEgg.com Preferred Account"

    Needless to say I'm pretty excited. I originally wanted a Core 2 Duo but I went back to AMD to save money. Also I figure I'd support the BioShock guys, especially since the cracks available don't see to work for everybody. Also to save money I'm sticking with the onboard sound for now. X-Fi looks neat but there is no Linux support yet.

    Again, thanks for the help.
     
  17. roguetrip

    Member roguetrip GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    I know one of the cracks work, but its worth it to buy it anyways! Even with it installing a rootkit, securom 7 and install 5x5 method [​IMG]
     
  18. platypusrme427

    Member platypusrme427 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    United States of America
    Country:
    United States
    I know a way to get the game working on your PC......you ready?





    BUY THE GAME!!!!!!! Seriously, if you have a decent pc, it will run fine. Especially if it's a DX10 card.
     
  19. squall3031

    Member squall3031 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    Australia
    EXACTLY!!!!

    RROD sucks!!! I plan to buy a PC just for gaming only. But I want to wait until good video card prices to come down first. And everything else for that matter. He he he.
     
  20. superkrm

    Member superkrm GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    a Rick Rolled Nation
    Country:
    United States
    i would have stuck with the 939 board

    upgraded the processor to an opteron
    not a necessity but it comes with one of the best stock coolers out there retail

    grab another gig of memory

    grabbed a nice d9 card like x1950pro or xt

    or if u gotta do d10 which i think is pointless right now
    u gotta do it right get a 8800
     

Share This Page