Biggest Micro Card Size tested?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Patch101, Aug 12, 2007.

Aug 12, 2007
  1. Patch101
    OP

    Newcomer Patch101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Wanting to upgrade on the 1gb card I have. Has anyone here tested
    the 4gb HC Micro cards they have out now? I have one I can get
    cheeeep but I have to know in a few hours if anyone has tried them out .....
     
  2. tipsy

    Member tipsy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    China
    R4 and other flash carts don't support microSDHC, only microSD.
     
  3. Patch101
    OP

    Newcomer Patch101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    cool, thx ... so 2gigs is about max then I suppose
     
  4. Evilkoko

    Member Evilkoko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    Currerntly only the cyclods supports microsdhc
     
  5. Skye07

    Member Skye07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    It is possible the R4 team will make a new generation R4 (or R5) which supports SDHC
     
  6. ILLnz

    Newcomer ILLnz Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I wouldn't be too sure, the faq on the r4ds site says

    Q: How many files can I have on the R4?
    A: R4 Adapter supports 128MB~4GB TF(MicroSD) card , 4GB=32Gbit
     
  7. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    i believe that some noname company has made 4gb transflash cards that work with the r4
     
  8. Skye07

    Member Skye07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Those 4GB MicroSD are very unreliable. And it's probably better to have 2x 2GB anyways.
     
  9. retman

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    and the prices of Micro SD Cards are so low it is cheaper to by 2 x 2Gb cards than a 4GB SDMC, even if the R4 supported SDNC
     
  10. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    yup.. sadly [​IMG]
     
  11. retman

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why sadly? SDHC are so dam expensive you would be stupid to pay that much for a little thing.
     
  12. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    I am >-this-< far away from ordering my CycloEvo, as soon as the retailers get them back in stock. Thanks to the miracles of the interwebs, I found that Buy.com sells Japanese Kingstons 2 Gig... They are $22 with free shipping. Ten bucks off with first-time Google checkout. Two gigs for $12 shipped to my door? Awesome.
     
  13. retman

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why not a r4? get out the r4 forum if you are getting a cycloevo
     
  14. tipsy

    Member tipsy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    China
    Yes, but the point is that it doesn't state the R4 supports HC.

    Currently the popular brands, Sandisk and Kingston don't make 4GB microSDs unless they are HC.
    There are some 4GB microSDs somewhere out there though, from unknown brands.
     
  15. retiredjerk

    Member retiredjerk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    i tested a 4GB Sandisk HC card. I thought i would need a special usb reader but actually i used a generic one i had laying around. I was able to format the card using "format D: /fs:FAT /A:64k" and i copied the latest 1.11 OS on the card and all i got was a frozen loading screen. Thats my experience.
     
  16. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia

    its not really frozen, it just cant read the firmware of the hc card
     
  17. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ^^

    because it doesnt support it.
     
  18. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can get 4GB micro sd's for use with R4 but not is SDHC format. you need to find a standard one thats all. like in FAT format or FAT32

    haven't seen one around though.
     
  19. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    If you buy without the "HC" then it will work. but why not have 2 cards? Then you could have more flashcards in one time [​IMG]?
     

Share This Page