Big Brain Academy and New Mario Bros single-cart download play not wor

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by KOMI, Jul 10, 2008.

  1. KOMI
    OP

    Newcomer KOMI Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    I've owned my M3 Real for about 2 weeks now, and so far have been pretty happy with it. It runs all my games fine and I haven't had one lockup or freeze yet.

    However, after reading several, several articles of people testing their M3 Real single-cart download abilities with games, it seems like something is off. Two games I have that don't work are Big Brain Academy and the New Super Mario Bros.

    I select these games with 'Y' to enable download play, but they just lockup once I start sending the data to another DS. I thought the M3 Real was supposed to have 100% download playing capabilities?

    M3 themselves have no support for this, but other threads I've read on other boards are full of people saying that their SMB and BBA games work fine with single-cart download play, but with maybe 1 or 2 people saying theirs aren't... Why is mine also not working then?

    I have the latest firmware, and my ROMS are official and not trimmed or tampered with in any way.
     
  2. pokemongalaxy

    Banned pokemongalaxy Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    717
    Country:
    Canada
    I download played mario bros on my m3ds simply...it should work on an m3real since its newer version of my card...
     
  3. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    try nsmb in download play mode with m3sakura.
    it should work, just tested it.
     
  4. teH XeRO

    Member teH XeRO GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    yea some games that dont work by default need to be set up in the config section for that game. if you drag the file to the left to open the config, you can go to download and play, and where it says normal you can set it to enable. the first party download and play games should work. i just tried that with new super mario bros last night..worked fine.
     
  5. revoman

    Newcomer revoman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    You will never know.....
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When u select a game, it takes u to the menu where u select cheats etc, Instead of pressing A/Start try pressing Y

    Says in bottom right corner: [ Y ]-Download Play

    Edit: my bad just re read ur post, ignore that and try using m3sakura
     
  6. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    FYI he's currently using M3manager(original) firmware in download play mode(Y launch)
    the fix is: use m3sakura in download play mode instead.
     
  7. revoman

    Newcomer revoman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    You will never know.....
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ye thats what i said in my edit, ingore that first bit. My brain has run away today.
     
  8. KOMI
    OP

    Newcomer KOMI Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada

    Yeah, I actually tried Sakura today as well, and still no luck. I went to the config and set them to 'Enabled' and everything, but they still lock up when trying to send the game to another DS for single-cart play.

    My other games seem to work fine... Just these two aren't. Which sucks cause these are two of my favorite games to play for multiplayer.

    And to be clear, I'm talking about the 'Mini-Games' portion not working for NSMB, since I know that the Mario vs Luigi part works apparently.
     
  9. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    are you TRIMMING??

    try using the ROM UN-TRIMMED [​IMG]
     
  10. revoman

    Newcomer revoman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    You will never know.....
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good point there [​IMG] Sometime trimming fudges up the dl play support, it did on my r4 for a while
     
  11. KOMI
    OP

    Newcomer KOMI Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Nah, like I mentioned in my first post, they're not trimmed nor am I trimming. And to be fair I don't even know how to trim if I wanted to (which I don't, since I have no reason to save filespace on my 4GB card)

    Maybe there's a patch or something I should be applying to these games?
     
  12. g6team

    Member g6team GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    You shouldn't need to patch these games. Although you have mentioned these are dumps have not been tampered before, I would suggest you to get another set of these games and test that out as well.
     

Share This Page