Better Pictures of old/new R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by striderx, Oct 8, 2007.

Oct 8, 2007

Better Pictures of old/new R4 by striderx at 8:10 AM (7,246 Views / 0 Likes) 31 replies

  1. striderx
    OP

    Member striderx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I planned to shoot these pictures the day my new R4's arrived. But my delivery was delayed by a day. I visited GBATemp that night and saw that bobrules had already posted some pictures. http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=61275

    I agree his could have been better, but he got here first and I didn't want to upstage him, so I haven't posted them till now. But now I see in a couple other topics that there are noises about wanting better pictures. http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=62231

    I hope these make everyone happy.

    Yeah, why start a new topic? Well, just adding to the others may not bring readers back that had otherwise already dismissed them. If considered bad form, sorry.

    Enjoy...

    striderx

    NOTE: The new version is on the right except in the exploded views where the parts are laid out. In those I just left them as is and rotated the sheet of paper they were lying on. Look for the reliefs in the side of the case. That's the new version.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     


  2. Wii_DS.

    Banned Wii_DS. ウォリアー

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Much better pictures, thank you striderx.
     
  3. shane1972

    Member shane1972 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi,

    Gr8 pictures but the question is "Is the card easy to get out without having to use a sharp object?".
    I had a cyclo Ds evo and that card is hard as to get out.

    Cheers
     
  4. CannonBallZ

    Member CannonBallZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United States
    hmmm.....There seems to be a few more tracks on the pcb under the sd card slot of the newer form factor
     
  5. striderx
    OP

    Member striderx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I have no problem getting the microSD card out with a fingernail. I'd say it's about perfect. Firm enough that there's no chance of it falling out, period.

    A force likely enough to dislodge it is also likely to kill your DS or R4 in the process. The mass of the microSD is just too low.

    I'd say it's about the same resistance as the SD adapters that came with my microSD's.

    It's WAY better than the slot 1 ezflash V that I also have (and never use, BTW.)

    striderx
     
  6. dodol

    Member dodol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    United States
    what's the meaning of "DLDI auto patching" in the new box, I thought R4 still need manual patch ?
     
  7. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Auto patching was added in the latest firmware update v1.11 which was released just before the shell redesign.
     
  8. striderx
    OP

    Member striderx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    That's a function of the firmware. The R4 has had DLDI autopatching since v 1.10, IIRC. (We're on v. 1.11, anxiously awaiting v 1.12)

    striderx
     
  9. GeekShadow

    Member GeekShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Location:
    France/Vendée (85)
    Country:
    France
    Thanks for lot of photos [​IMG]

    As I can see, the new R4 don't have black lines at bottom :
    [​IMG]

    Maybe for better detection on DS.
    With the current M3 DS Simply I have sometimes to blow on DS for M3 DS to be detected...
     
  10. Noobix

    Member Noobix GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Awesome pics. [​IMG]
     
  11. recover

    Member recover GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Sweden
    Really appreciate it striderx. [​IMG]
    Thanks a lot, interesting to see the changes. [​IMG]
     
  12. Raisingod

    Member Raisingod GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    Israel
    StriderX can you please make a close up pic of the Chipset ( want to know if they replaced the PIC )
     
  13. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    It was 1.10, which was released 3 months before the shell redesign.
     
  14. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Lol, why is one SD Kingston and the other a Sandisk?

    Other than that, good pics. Nice comparison.
     
  15. Wii_DS.

    Banned Wii_DS. ウォリアー

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What is wrong with having two different brands, eh?

    i have kingston and SanDisk.
     
  16. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Nothing, I was just pointing it out. I have Kingstons, Sandisks, Toshibas.
     
  17. striderx
    OP

    Member striderx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Cuz those were the cheapest ones at the time!


    Enjoy!

    striderx
     
  18. MacGnG

    Member MacGnG GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Know Where
    Country:
    United States
    nice, no reason to get the new one if u got an old one
     
  19. striderx
    OP

    Member striderx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Agreed.

    Having both, I'd say...

    ... there's no reason to buy a new one to replace an old one that's working normally,

    ... there's no compelling reason to seek out an old one instead of a new one (assuming the anticipated microSDHC support in v. 1.12 isn't limited to the new version).

    Both have their pros & cons.

    The one thing I wish they had done in the design update is to have made the microSD a side loader, like my ezflash V. The top loader makes it plain to all that you've got a flashcart. I'd prefer it to be a little more discrete.

    striderx
     
  20. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good work striderx best pictures of the new/old R4 on the net. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page