Best way to update cios 249rev6 to 249rev7

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by edg0023, Jan 6, 2009.

Jan 6, 2009
  1. edg0023
    OP

    Member edg0023 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    hi

    I have a 3.4 English Wii. What would be the best way to update the cios?

    thanks
     
  2. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    Just get the new cios and update right over the old one. It'll overwrite it.
     
  3. edg0023
    OP

    Member edg0023 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    really its that easy? My friends told me its more complicated than that. Are they wrong?
     
  4. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    They are Wrong. It really is that easy. However i would seriously consider downgrading to 3.2 and installing starfall, that way if you ever install a bad wad your protected from bricks, and you don't have to worry about a future retail game update disabling your softmod.
     
  5. 20clarky08

    Member 20clarky08 Official Wii Freak

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    ScouseLand
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i've just this second installed rev7 over rev6 so yes...

    it is that easy.

    am on 3.2 dont know if 3.4 is gonna hinder you
     
  6. dajavax

    Member dajavax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Monterrey
    Country:
    Mexico
    i did it... and i had some problems with guitar hero's... i don't know if it's because of that... but i can't figure what else... im 3.3U (first version)
     
  7. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    guitar heroes... do a board search, you'll find your answer. Woot 500th post.
     
  8. xem1x

    Member xem1x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    whats the easiest way to tell what rev you are on currently?
     
  9. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    check the installer on your sd card. lol But if you arnt sure if your on the newest (r7) then just grab the r7 installer and run it. it will overwrite any older versions.
     
  10. xem1x

    Member xem1x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    the installer i have says boot.dol but also has the rev7 dol file as well. different file sizes. I will just rename the rev7 and install over top.

    I used the EoC pack.
     
  11. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    One may be the 002 fix - im not sure which is which with his files , but the boot.dol i have is the rev7 with 002 and i also have the original rev 7 in there to be renamed just in case - read his ReadME and see what it says

    All of EOC's files are great by the way - so id say its 002 fix with cios rev 7
     
  12. xem1x

    Member xem1x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Perfect, I will just leave well enough alone, since everything is working like a dream. Thanks for the assistance.
     

Share This Page