Emulation Best way to play every possible N64 game on wiiu

pedro702

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,591
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
6,619
Country
Portugal
Yeah the massive slowdowns, I know they aren't all the time but it ruins the flow
lol did you see the video? there are no massive slowdowns that arent on the original game, seriously watch the video see the game running on the original n64 and them see the frame-rate on wii64 rice... it runs much better with less slowdowns by far.

so you are saying you couldnt play the game when it released or most of the n64 games? lol if you ever played star wars rogue squadron on a real n64 you would cry i guess.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CORE

NecroNexus

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 22, 2021
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
14
XP
171
Country
United States
Okay so i saw the "Bust-a-move 99" Entry and id like to point out something. Wii U VC Injection works perfectly fine for the game, at least what ive tested anyway. It could have some load time issues but for the Gameplay its practically perfect.
All im saying is maybe put "Wii U VC Injection" for Bust-A-Move 99 since it has no issues (On my end at least)
 

Milenko

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
3,227
Trophies
1
XP
4,291
Country
Australia
lol did you see the video? there are no massive slowdowns that arent on the original game, seriously watch the video see the game running on the original n64 and them see the frame-rate on wii64 rice... it runs much better with less slowdowns by far.

so you are saying you couldnt play the game when it released or most of the n64 games? lol if you ever played star wars rogue squadron on a real n64 you would cry i guess.
I didn't really notice any problems in the 90's (apart from explosions causing lag)

Is there a video of GE working on rice? I'm not busting out the wii u just to try
 

pedro702

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,591
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
6,619
Country
Portugal
I didn't really notice any problems in the 90's (apart from explosions causing lag)

Is there a video of GE working on rice? I'm not busting out the wii u just to try
lol if you dont even want to try then what is the point, if you see the video goleneye runs about 15 fps for most of the time and sometimes drops to 10 fps when there is too many enemies, oh and the multiplyer also only runs at 8-12 fps lol, you didnt noticed that back then due to the bluriness and crts and such.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CORE

CORE

3:16
Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
1,165
Trophies
1
XP
1,948
Country
United Kingdom
Goldeneye runs near perfect with RICE.

25/30FPS Back in the Day on CRT.

I have not tryed MultiPlayer and Explosives used to cause massive lag until the smoke cleared.

Crazy above 60FPS Games start affecting me too Fast / Motion Sickness.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gZa

wolf-snake

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,408
Trophies
0
XP
2,290
Country
Mexico
Can we bump down Banjo Tooie to Unplayable? the speed is 1:1 the same as real hardware... But if you jump high enough the textures would unload in a wite flash of blindless that will get unbearable to deal with for more than 10 minutes of continuing gameplay.
 

pedro702

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,591
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
6,619
Country
Portugal
Can we bump down Banjo Tooie to Unplayable? the speed is 1:1 the same as real hardware... But if you jump high enough the textures would unload in a wite flash of blindless that will get unbearable to deal with for more than 10 minutes of continuing gameplay.
what? lol where are you playing banjo tooie?
 

wolf-snake

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,408
Trophies
0
XP
2,290
Country
Mexico
Not64. Those flashes seems to be more common in the hub world rather than the lvls themselves but that's because the game freezed itself up after i open a door in the first level... Also in a cutscene every time the camera focus on an npc everything but the character turns white.
 

pedro702

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,591
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
6,619
Country
Portugal
Not64. Those flashes seems to be more common in the hub world rather than the lvls themselves but that's because the game freezed itself up after i open a door in the first level... Also in a cutscene every time the camera focus on an npc everything but the character turns white.
try wii64 rice works preety well, also running the latest not64?

wii64 1,3 here
https://github.com/emukidid/Wii64/releases/tag/1.3-20212212

try the rice version, besides the error on the pause menu due to rice not having framebuffer codded in runs preety well.
 

wolf-snake

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,408
Trophies
0
XP
2,290
Country
Mexico
try wii64 rice works preety well, also running the latest not64?

wii64 1,3 here
https://github.com/emukidid/Wii64/releases/tag/1.3-20212212

try the rice version, besides the error on the pause menu due to rice not having framebuffer codded in runs preety well.
Rice not only does it has the same problem but it runs slower than Not64 by a really noticible amount, i've played an ungodly amoumt of Banjo Tooie in my youth so i know how that game is supposed to run. Its a shame all Rareware games have this thing that completely ruins them other than Golden Eye and Banjo Kazooie.
 

pedro702

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,591
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
6,619
Country
Portugal
Rice not only does it has the same problem but it runs slower than Not64 by a really noticible amount, i've played an ungodly amoumt of Banjo Tooie in my youth so i know how that game is supposed to run. Its a shame all Rareware games have this thing that completely ruins them other than Golden Eye and Banjo Kazooie.
you can overclock wii64 on wiiu and it runs buttery smooth lol that is the advantage off the wiiu ...
 

wolf-snake

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,408
Trophies
0
XP
2,290
Country
Mexico
you can overclock wii64 on wiiu and it runs buttery smooth lol that is the advantage off the wiiu ...
Don't you think i've been doing this since the beginning? how else would i gotten Banjo Tooie to run at basically real hardware performance if i didn't ran C2W beforehand?
 

pedro702

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,591
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
6,619
Country
Portugal
Don't you think i've been doing this since the beginning? how else would i gotten Banjo Tooie to run at basically real hardware performance if i didn't ran C2W beforehand?
then your not doing it right becuase rice has tooie running full speed with overclock ... you need to overclock and then set cpu clock divider to 1.

Right now wii641.3 has an audio bug where some games go with some static, but the speed is spot on the audio bug affects some games even games like smash bros and beetle adventure racing and so on.

you can use this rice beta which has some other issues but it works great for tooie overclock + cpu clock divider set to one

this is the beta still has some tiny static issues but very light.
https://github.com/emukidid/Wii64/files/5564478/wii64-master.zip

grab the rice wiivc dol and rename to boot.dol
 
Last edited by pedro702,
  • Like
Reactions: SaulFabre
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: "Lack Sparrow."