Hacking Best Way to Mod Any Wii: ModMii for Windows: Official Support Thread

  • Thread starter XFlak
  • Start date
  • Views 2,949,349
  • Replies 9,676
  • Likes 73

Did ModMii work for you?

  • Yes!

    Votes: 789 82.3%
  • No, and I won't report what went wrong because I am a troll

    Votes: 56 5.8%
  • No, and I posted what went wrong

    Votes: 114 11.9%

  • Total voters
    959

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,599
Trophies
2
Age
36
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
6,970
Country
Cyprus
Lucif3r said:
Hai.

I used this nifty program to mod my first Wii, a brand new black one with system menu 4.3e as standard.
I am delighted to say it worked perfectly
smile.gif
. Very easy to use, very straight forward. Thank you for this great tool!

you're very welcome!
biggrin.gif


One thing I noticed though, there doesnt seem to be a dedicated channel for WiiFlow bundled in it.
Might be something to add if you are like me and want to test all different loaders to find the one you like the best
smile.gif
. (not that it was hard to find on these forums though
smile.gif
)
the usbloader forwarder channel included with ModMii works for many many usbloaders and paths

SD+USB:\apps\usbloader\boot.dol
SD+USB:\apps\usbloader\boot.elf
SD+USB:\apps\usb-loader\boot.dol
SD+USB:\apps\usb-loader\boot.elf
SD+USB:\apps\usbloader_cfg\boot.dol
SD+USB:\apps\usbloader_cfg\boot.elf
SD+USB:\apps\WiiFlow\boot.dol
SD+USB:\apps\WiiFlow\boot.elf
SD+USB:\apps\usbloader_gx\boot.dol
SD+USB:\apps\usbloader_gx\boot.elf


so u can use that channel to load any of the above. But say if u have usbloader_cfg and wiiflow on your sd card but u want the channel to load wiiflow, well just rename the "usbloader_cfg" folder to "usbloader_cfg_off" or something. Or instead you can rename the "apps\wiiflow" folder to "apps\usbloader"
 

harry_merkin

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
57
Trophies
0
XP
77
Country
United States
Quick question about ModMii.

My PC has no SD card slot. If I use ModMii normally, except with a USB thumb drive instead of an SD card, and then I transfer those files to an SD card using another computer, will it still work fine?
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,599
Trophies
2
Age
36
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
6,970
Country
Cyprus
harry_merkin said:
Quick question about ModMii.

My PC has no SD card slot. If I use ModMii normally, except with a USB thumb drive instead of an SD card, and then I transfer those files to an SD card using another computer, will it still work fine?
yup, that's fine
biggrin.gif
 

KTroopA

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2007
Messages
594
Trophies
0
XP
940
Country
Hey XFlak, great app thank you. Ive download and ran through seems easy enough to use
smile.gif


I had one question please. My wii is 4.2U and the last game i played was probably Goldeneye a while back. I would like to upgrade my wii as far as IOS go to bring it fully up to date, but stay on current system menu. Whats the best way to do this please? Do i choose all active IOS in ModMii and download them? Then i install those updated IOS as wads?

I use Wiiflow and know how to use Wad Manager 1.7, just wondered also if there a batch method of installing the WADS, or even better a wii app to do it online thru the wii.

tia
 

Lucif3r

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2011
Messages
1,468
Trophies
0
XP
228
Country
JoostinOnline said:
Press 1, choose Style, change your settings, choose System, and select Save Settings.

/facepalm /facepalm /facepalm >_<
Thanks! lol
The save option should be more obvious for blind people like me haha

XFlak said:
... so u can use that channel to load any of the above. But say if u have usbloader_cfg and wiiflow on your sd card but u want the channel to load wiiflow, well just rename the "usbloader_cfg" folder to "usbloader_cfg_off" or something. Or instead you can rename the "apps\wiiflow" folder to "apps\usbloader"

Yep, I know that. I ment a separate channel for the loaders, so you dont have to mess with folder renaming all the time
tongue.gif


By the way, can I trust this app to be kept up-to-date? Like if theres a new update needed (maybe for skyward sword or something, who knows), will the app be updated so it will be fast and easy for us to update?
smile.gif



QUOTE(harry_merkin @ Sep 10 2011, 07:42 PM)
Quick question about ModMii.

My PC has no SD card slot. If I use ModMii normally, except with a USB thumb drive instead of an SD card, and then I transfer those files to an SD card using another computer, will it still work fine?

Yes, I downloaded all files etc on my workstation, which doesnt have an SD reader, copied the content to a usb drive, plugged it into my laptop and copied the files to the SD card. Worked as expected - perfect
smile.gif
 

ChrisLuther

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Bracknell,UK
XP
195
Country
KTroopA said:
Hey XFlak, great app thank you. Ive download and ran through seems easy enough to use
smile.gif


I had one question please. My wii is 4.2U and the last game i played was probably Goldeneye a while back. I would like to upgrade my wii as far as IOS go to bring it fully up to date, but stay on current system menu. Whats the best way to do this please? Do i choose all active IOS in ModMii and download them? Then i install those updated IOS as wads?

I use Wiiflow and know how to use Wad Manager 1.7, just wondered also if there a batch method of installing the WADS, or even better a wii app to do it online thru the wii.

tia

Ensure update ISO is enabled in options and run the wizard choosing 4.2 as both current and new firmare to be installed. I dont know if WM1.7 can batch install but Muilti Mod Manager does..
 

DeadlyFoez

XFlak Fanboy
Banned
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
5,920
Trophies
0
Website
DeadlyFoez.zzl.org
XP
2,873
Country
United States
I was aiming to be first post on page #300, but I failed. Either way, congrats XFlak.

To my good friend. Shit is changing soon. Shit is changin........ I've finally mastered the plan for myself. I know what I need to do.
 

wiixale

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
299
Trophies
0
XP
95
Country
Italy
Hi guys,

ModMii 4.7.1 crashes during the process regarding SNEEK installer. It's casual, it could crash at the first step, or when it's downloading the files.

No problems on other processes (eg. downloading cIOSes, other apps ecc...).
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,599
Trophies
2
Age
36
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
6,970
Country
Cyprus
ModMii for Windows
Version 4.7.1 Released in Italian!


by XFlak[/color]]XFlak


Download ModMii Installer Here

Download French ModMii Installer Here

French version not updated yet, still at v4.6.1

Download Italian ModMii Installer Here


Download Dutch ModMii Installer Here

Dutch version not updated yet, still at v4.6.1

See first post for more info.


@Italian users, there is an update bug in the Italian version of ModMii v4.6.0 & v4.6.1, performing an update using these versions will update to the most recent English version of ModMii. However, the Italian ModMii Installer and Italian ModMii v4.5.7 are able to correctly update to Italian v4.7.1.
 

mhzainn

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
46
Trophies
0
XP
12
Country
United States
how are you XFlak and you guys I am new in this forum , i want to install modmii but i already install hackmii installer from the official website booted as IOS so that I am about to skip 1 or 2 steps from ModMiiGuide but when i read the ModMiiGuide "If the HBC is using an IOS other than IOS58 or your homebrew channel is upside-down, make a note of it as it applies later in the guide (you will have to reinstall the HBC)."
i am using HBC 1.0.8 with IOS61 is that problem and if request IOS58 how do i make it IOS58

my wii specifications
wii 4.2U and (I have neogamma R8 b7 Ios249 Rev14 )
 

petspeed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
834
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
834
Country
Denmark
mhzainn said:
i am using HBC 1.0.8 with IOS61 is that problem and if request IOS58 how do i make it IOS58

It's not a problem but ios58 is recommended. You change that by installing ios58 and then reinstall hbc. I am sure if you follow the modmii guide you will go through those steps.
 

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
11,005
Trophies
1
Location
The Twilight Zone
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
4,321
Country
United States
mhzainn said:
how are you XFlak and you guys I am new in this forum , i want to install modmii but i already install hackmii installer from the official website booted as IOS so that I am about to skip 1 or 2 steps from ModMiiGuide but when i read the ModMiiGuide "If the HBC is using an IOS other than IOS58 or your homebrew channel is upside-down, make a note of it as it applies later in the guide (you will have to reinstall the HBC)."
i am using HBC 1.0.8 with IOS61 is that problem and if request IOS58 how do i make it IOS58

my wii specifications
wii 4.2U and (I have neogamma R8 b7 Ios249 Rev14 )
It's not like skipping part of a guide isn't really really stupid.

PS: It is.
 

mhzainn

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
46
Trophies
0
XP
12
Country
United States
JoostinOnline said:
mhzainn said:
how are you XFlak and you guys I am new in this forum , i want to install modmii but i already install hackmii installer from the official website booted as IOS so that I am about to skip 1 or 2 steps from ModMiiGuide but when i read the ModMiiGuide "If the HBC is using an IOS other than IOS58 or your homebrew channel is upside-down, make a note of it as it applies later in the guide (you will have to reinstall the HBC)."
i am using HBC 1.0.8 with IOS61 is that problem and if request IOS58 how do i make it IOS58

my wii specifications
wii 4.2U and (I have neogamma R8 b7 Ios249 Rev14 )
It's not like skipping part of a guide isn't really really stupid.

PS: It is.

what is up with you why are you so angry ?
blink.gif

I do, i started with the first step and second step either no use, only i want to make it 58 any other help ?
shy.gif
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,599
Trophies
2
Age
36
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
6,970
Country
Cyprus
follow your guide, it will tell u to install wads (including IOS58), do that

then it will tell u to reinstall the homebrew channel (if applicable), follow that part of the guide also

That is all that is required to update your HBC to run off of IOS58, but there are probably other things your guide instructs you to do in order to update other things as well (ie. latest d2x cIOSs are installed in the install wads step) so you should consider completing the entire guide.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Elodain @ Elodain: I mean they live in the lap of luxury and they wanna get salty over what is to them chump change...