ROM Hack Best Text Editor to Use?

Girafarig

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'd like to hack Harvest Moon: Tale of Two Towns so I can play as a guy and marry the bachelors.

I reckon that'd involve changing the girl sprites to a boy, and changing the pronouns from female to male.

What Text Editor would you recommend? What graphics editor? Thank you!!

I have to say, I have no clue what I'm doing xD Ive tried using CrystalTile to open the graphics but no luck ._. I followed the tutorial and... looks like TOTT is pretty different from Mario Kart ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ go figure

Any help is appreciated

(also, if this is the wrong place to ask, tell me! I'm fairly new)

Last edited by Girafarig,

Girafarig

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
MadEdit all the way!

Best HEX editor ever.
gonna be honest xD I have no idea what I'm doing
2aecb1f85a80401983ec9d8fa04db191.png

what do I do? How do I edit text ;-; I'm new to this and very confused ._.

luckymouse0

Mad Scientist
Trophies
Website
github.com
XP
Country
Argentina
OK, this will be a little tutorial and I hope you like it :)

- First of all, if you are going to translate from Japanese, make sure that you have installed Asian/Japanese fonts/language (Select your OS and follow instructions):

WinXP
Win7 Win8 Win10

- Now that you have support for Japanese language, open your file with MadEdit. For example I will use Khamrai.bin:

XTq03vw.png

- If you search for Japanese text, you will find that everything is gibberish! Before you can see the Japanese text, you need to change the encoding to Shift-JIS (Wikipedia). Do this:

r4PsOQs.png

- Everything is set. Try searching for japanese text. This is the tricky part: If you know japanese you will find it in no-time. The problem is when you don't know. I write the characters using Google translator :P. For example, I will do this with khamrai.

This is the text I want to change:

QKoA97Q.png

Look what I found...

0Duqdnt.png

Be careful!!
Code: