Best slot one card?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by blizeH, Oct 15, 2007.

Oct 15, 2007

Best slot one card? by blizeH at 9:24 PM (2,517 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys,

    I'm after a slot one card since my DS Lite has just broken (shoulder button FTL) and I don't fancy flashing another.

    Just something that's going to play as many games as possible, and something that's reliable and won't break.

    Not bothered about GBA support since I'll keep my G6 Lite for a bit, not bothered about movie or MP3 playback since I have an iPod Classic and I'm not worried if I have to patch games since the trim function seems neat anyway, plus on the G6 you can add cheats etc for example.

    Also I'm UK based, so something I can pickup cheap would be great!

    Thanks
     


  2. IainDS

    Member IainDS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    R4/M3 are pretty much the same and probably your best bet price wise.
     
  3. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    R4 is great, but the Acekard RPG seems really cool, but it's missing some basic features like cheat and soft-reset support.

    I'm confused. Your DSLite just broke, so now you want a flashcart? What does that solve? And just wondering, does the G6 Lite have GBA support?
     
  4. IainDS

    Member IainDS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just replied to his post on his broken shoulder button. Not sure if he's checked it out yet.

    The Acekard has open source firmware so features like soft reset etc. should roll out quite quickly when requested.
     
  5. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly. My DS, R4 and 1GB microSD got stolen so I'm thinking about getting an Acekard.
     
  6. IainDS

    Member IainDS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm going to get one as well.
     
  7. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks, seems like the Acekard is the way to go then!

    The reason I'm buying a new one, is as Iain said (many thanks for your reply btw!) I've got a problem with my shoulder button so will buy a new DS if I can't fix it. I don't have the tools to flash a DS any more, so will need to switch to a slot 1 based card.
     
  8. villa_bryan

    Newcomer villa_bryan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    if you don't care about download play than yeah, the acecard

    but the cyclo has awesome download play
     
  9. IainDS

    Member IainDS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When I use download play on mario kart on my R4, the positions in the race are all crazy. So If I win I actually come last, it's quite fun
     
  10. Upas

    Newcomer Upas Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Country:
    United States
    I really like my CycloDS/ Download play works perfectly so far, though I haven't tried it with the Wii. I'll try that as soon as I can.

    I'd go with the CycloDS, they have an amazing support team too.
     
  11. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    There really is no best cart, all have pros and cons, but I'd say go with the Acekard for now. Or a Cyclo. Cuz right now I think that the R4/M3 is sort of dying out, but after the new kernel for R4 comes out maybe the R4 will become popular again.
     
  12. villa_bryan

    Newcomer villa_bryan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    check out the Cyclo DS Forum, Bug Report sections teamcyclops.com/forum

    and look at all that's being reported by the community and the response the team gives.

    the acecard has cool features but i really love download play, i can just sit next to someone at school and ask if they wanna race, play hold em, or just jump on eachother in Super Mario bros.

    the r4 has good download play, but from what i understand not 100%
     
  13. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Awesome thank you, is it basically a case of Cyclo if I want download play, and Acekard if I don't?
     
  14. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    We can't really confirm that Acekard is permanently incapable of download-play as it is still in its early stages. But for now, yes; pick the Cyclo if you need download play.
     
  15. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Download play isn't something I've actually had to use at all up until now (other than Mario Kart and I own the original anyway) - but I'm open to the possibility in the future, so I'm not sure really.

    R4 and M3 is out of the question then really, what are the best UK sellers? I used to use Winsunx but they don't sell either the Cyclo or Acekard
     
  16. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Acekard definitely seems tricky to get hold of, and I notice this in a review:

    How close is it to getting this functionality? I must say it's very appealing, and would certainly sway me between the Cyclo and this. What are the main differences between the two?

    In fact, the Cyclo is very hard to get hold of too, and I've just found this Acekard - am I correct in thinking if I bought that, that's all I need? No extra memory cards, card readers, adapters etc?
     
  17. go185

    Member go185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    I ordered my RPG from Bamboogaming too, and its all that you need. It has 1GB of built in memory and has a microSD slot if you want to have more than 1GB. It even ships with a USB cable!

    Also, like all DS flashcarts, Multicart Multiplayer works fine, its just the Singlecart Multiplayer that is spotty on some flashcarts.

    I really haven't had any problems with my RPG. Sure it has no cheats, but I am not a cheater. It has no soft reset, but is it really that hard to flick a switch?
     
  18. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks for that, and as much as I hate to admit it, the ability to cheat and do real time save/load (do any of the cards do this?) would be a massive plus for me. I try not to cheat if possible, but if I'm really stuck on a game near the end, it'd be great to be able to have a little extra help in getting past it [​IMG]
     
  19. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So does Cyclo feature soft reset/realtime save/cheats etc?
     
  20. villa_bryan

    Newcomer villa_bryan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    cheats yes, as well as soft reset, real time save is something they have promised in the firmware 2.0.

    infact right now if I go to the enhanced menu the option is there but it is not implemented yet.

    that's 2 for 3 with a promise of the third.
     

Share This Page