Best ram cart for QuakeDS and Quake2DS?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by strata8, Mar 29, 2008.

Mar 29, 2008
  1. strata8
    OP

    Member strata8 Look! A pointless distraction!

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    618
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm stuck between the EZFlash 3-in-1 and the M3Real Expansion Pack. The M3 has 32MB of RAM as opposed to 16MB, but apparently the EZFlash is faster or something? Has anyone had previous experiences with them and QuakeDS (or other Hombrew)?
     
  2. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Quake DS doesn't require more than 16 MB of RAM, so you should be good with the 3in1. The Quake DS creator stated that from his experience, the 3in1 contains the fastest slot-2 RAM available, which plays a major role in the playability of Quake II DS, not so much in Quake I DS. Note that I haven't tried either of these personally, but I have a Supercard, which has the slowest RAM available.

    For other homebrew the speed of slot-2 RAM really doesn't make much difference.

    EDIT: If you're at all interested in DSLinux however, your main concern should be the amount of RAM, not the speed. In this case, more = better so the M3 would be your choice. If you don't care about DSLinux, 16 MB should be more than enough.
     
  3. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Are you sure the M3 Real Expansion pack has 32MB of ram? Not that I've looked into it but I do know that when they talk about M3 with QuakeDS/Quake2DS, they are talking about the much older M3 Perfect Slot 2 carts.

    EDIT: Stupid me. The (good) expansion pack for M3 Real plays GBA games, so of course it'd be 32MB!
     
  4. Sticks

    Member Sticks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Australia
    I've played both and QuakeDS definitely doesn't need the 3-in-1 or any other external RAM pack, it runs fine, no lag or rendering problems. Quake2DS needs the RAM, and the 3-in-1 is pretty good IMO, it'll take maybe 1 second or so to load far off textures + detail, and it jerks + lags a bit, but it's very playable.
     

Share This Page