PS1/2 Best option for modchip-less PS2

skomand

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
40
Trophies
0
XP
69
Country
United States
Hello all,

I've been poking around for mod-chipless options for playing backed-up PS2 games. I've come across a wide range of boot disks and flip-covers and slip cases and whatnot. I'm a bit overwhelmed and was hoping one of you could help me sort through the clutter. What's the best option out there? Is there much risk in installing those flip covers or whatever else? Also, if I want to burn a back-up, do I need DVD burner? Because I only have a CD burner currently.

Also, if there's a resource for this stuff similar to GBAtemp (reviews, forums, etc.) would you please kindly direct me there?

Thanks so much! Love this site like it's my girlfriend.
wub.gif
 

oteck

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
253
Country
Canada
Theres another alternative but it's not cheap. It requires a phat ps2 and a HDD adapter + hard drive
this actualy cuts down on the pesky load time by alot. playing xenosaga1 w/o the load is one example but it has some compatibility issues w/ some games and you cant run PS1 games in the Hard drive.

do a search on HDadvance or HDloader
 

Shinji

҉҉ ҉҉
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
2,372
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
City of Delusion
Website
www.google.com
XP
305
Country
United States
Good resource site is Ps2Nfo

I think he has a Ps2 cause he mentions installing a flip top.

In this case, There is pretty much no risk if you've worked on electronics before.

Flip Top + Swap Magic = w00tage!
 

jumpman17

He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!
Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2003
Messages
9,092
Trophies
0
Age
34
Website
Visit site
XP
2,582
Country
United States
thanks -- do i need a DVD burner to burn DVD games?

As stated 2 posts above you, yes.

A PlayStation 1 plays PlayStation 1 games.
A PlayStation 2 plays PlayStation 2 and 1 games.
A PlayStation 3 plays PlayStation 3, 2, and 1 games.

But a PlayStaion 1 will not play PlayStation 2 or 3 games.

It's kinda like this "Do you need a toaster to make toast?" Yes.
 

skomand

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
40
Trophies
0
XP
69
Country
United States
missed that post is all.

i'm aware of how backwards compatiblity works -- what made you think i did not?

i only asked if i needed a DVD burner because i thought there might be a way to burn a DVD image to a CD or something.

re: HD Advance + HD -- does anyone have this, and, what are your thoughts.
 

ohoni

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
77
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
181
Country
United States
I got one of those swap discs and slide card solutions and it works great. It's basically a swap disc thing like the Gamecube one, only you need to trick the PS2 into thinking you didn't open it (no pushing the eject button). That's where the slide card comes in. It's a little widgety plastic thing where you remove the front off the CD tray (REALLY easy and reversable), and then you fish it in under the CD tray and use it to manually eject the tray, swap the discs, and you're ready to go.

It works REALLY easy and takes about thirty seconds to load the game once you know how, but you WILL need to get a DVD burner for most games (there are a few that are CD though, like Lego Starwars II). I've tried a bunch of games this way and they all worked (although it took some trial and error to find the right brand of DVDs, Maxell CD-Rs work for me).

The alternative is that fliptop thing, which is about the same, but a little easier and cleaner, and costs like $50 more (the discs cost $30, the card costs $3).
 

lenselijer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
1,526
Trophies
0
XP
600
Country
Netherlands
same with swapmagic, some games are too big and so cannot run unless you patch them.

if you want a no-hassle solution you have to go for the chip
frown.gif
 

Tir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
154
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
223
Country
same with swapmagic, some games are too big and so cannot run unless you patch them.

if you want a no-hassle solution you have to go for the chip
frown.gif
Hardly any games have problems with Swap Magic though, Xenosaga 1 is one of the few that does but the version I got was a single layer dvd so it works fine. Can't think of any other games, it's a cheap and easy solution.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Only people with crazed sexual obsessions browse imgur and posts links from there