Best option for modchip-less PS2

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by skomand, Oct 9, 2006.

Oct 9, 2006
  1. skomand
    OP

    Newcomer skomand Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Hello all,

    I've been poking around for mod-chipless options for playing backed-up PS2 games. I've come across a wide range of boot disks and flip-covers and slip cases and whatnot. I'm a bit overwhelmed and was hoping one of you could help me sort through the clutter. What's the best option out there? Is there much risk in installing those flip covers or whatever else? Also, if I want to burn a back-up, do I need DVD burner? Because I only have a CD burner currently.

    Also, if there's a resource for this stuff similar to GBAtemp (reviews, forums, etc.) would you please kindly direct me there?

    Thanks so much! Love this site like it's my girlfriend. [​IMG]
     
  2. oteck

    Newcomer oteck Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    Theres another alternative but it's not cheap. It requires a phat ps2 and a HDD adapter + hard drive
    this actualy cuts down on the pesky load time by alot. playing xenosaga1 w/o the load is one example but it has some compatibility issues w/ some games and you cant run PS1 games in the Hard drive.

    do a search on HDadvance or HDloader
     
  3. Pado

    Member Pado GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    The Holy Land
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You need a DVD burner if you want burn a back-up .. well for PS2-DVD games atleast [​IMG].

    anyway ... first thing first .. do you have a PS2 or a PStwo ??? [​IMG]
     
  4. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    Good resource site is Ps2Nfo

    I think he has a Ps2 cause he mentions installing a flip top.

    In this case, There is pretty much no risk if you've worked on electronics before.

    Flip Top + Swap Magic = w00tage!
     
  5. skomand
    OP

    Newcomer skomand Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    thanks -- do i need a DVD burner to burn DVD games?
     
  6. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    As stated 2 posts above you, yes.

    A PlayStation 1 plays PlayStation 1 games.
    A PlayStation 2 plays PlayStation 2 and 1 games.
    A PlayStation 3 plays PlayStation 3, 2, and 1 games.

    But a PlayStaion 1 will not play PlayStation 2 or 3 games.

    It's kinda like this "Do you need a toaster to make toast?" Yes.
     
  7. skomand
    OP

    Newcomer skomand Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    missed that post is all.

    i'm aware of how backwards compatiblity works -- what made you think i did not?

    i only asked if i needed a DVD burner because i thought there might be a way to burn a DVD image to a CD or something.

    re: HD Advance + HD -- does anyone have this, and, what are your thoughts.
     
  8. ohoni

    Newcomer ohoni Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    I got one of those swap discs and slide card solutions and it works great. It's basically a swap disc thing like the Gamecube one, only you need to trick the PS2 into thinking you didn't open it (no pushing the eject button). That's where the slide card comes in. It's a little widgety plastic thing where you remove the front off the CD tray (REALLY easy and reversable), and then you fish it in under the CD tray and use it to manually eject the tray, swap the discs, and you're ready to go.

    It works REALLY easy and takes about thirty seconds to load the game once you know how, but you WILL need to get a DVD burner for most games (there are a few that are CD though, like Lego Starwars II). I've tried a bunch of games this way and they all worked (although it took some trial and error to find the right brand of DVDs, Maxell CD-Rs work for me).

    The alternative is that fliptop thing, which is about the same, but a little easier and cleaner, and costs like $50 more (the discs cost $30, the card costs $3).
     
  9. blue99

    Member blue99 The Original Fake

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,250
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Anybody know a reliable site to buy Swap Magic? Canadian-based if possible.

    My mod-chip just died. [​IMG]
     
  10. Tomobobo

    Member Tomobobo Champion.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    hdadvance is cool untill you want to play a game that isnt supported. then it blows.
     
  11. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    same with swapmagic, some games are too big and so cannot run unless you patch them.

    if you want a no-hassle solution you have to go for the chip [​IMG]
     
  12. Tir

    Member Tir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Australia
    Hardly any games have problems with Swap Magic though, Xenosaga 1 is one of the few that does but the version I got was a single layer dvd so it works fine. Can't think of any other games, it's a cheap and easy solution.
     

Share This Page