Best Micro SD for M3 Lite

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Kosaka, Sep 22, 2006.

Sep 22, 2006

Best Micro SD for M3 Lite by Kosaka at 9:03 PM (2,181 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. Kosaka
    OP

    Newcomer Kosaka Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Brazil
    So guys, I'm thinking of buying m3Lite from real hot stuff and I'm thinking of getting the bundle with passcard 3 and 1gb Kingston micro SD card. So i wanna know, is the kingston card any good? From what I can see here on gbatemp, most people use the sandisk so I think that it's probably the best card. I really wanna hear opinions of what would be best to get to have a good run on the M3 Lite.


    P.S: If you guys know any cheaper place for getting the english M3Lite (and the other stuff too) please tell me.

    Any help is appreciated. Thanks! [​IMG]
     


  2. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    the kingston works good, and realhotstuff has first rate service. Everything practically will work well with m3's new firmwares (v28 and v27a) with the speed increases.

    If you need to check compatibility for media cards in the future, read here:

    http://www.m3wiki.com/index.php?title=Media_Card
     
  3. sexymexi

    Newcomer sexymexi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    any SD card works well with an M3 [​IMG]
     
  4. Kosaka
    OP

    Newcomer Kosaka Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks for the info guys! You've been really helpful! [​IMG]
     
  5. SaiZou

    Member SaiZou GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    does a a-data micro sd work fine with the m3 lite?
     
  6. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    most likely although I'm not a big fan of a-data because of the cheaply built sd cards. I'd spend a couple extra dollars for a kingston or sandisk.
     
  7. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    I have tested 3 of the 1 gig cards personally on two different M3 Lites using the same M3 software. Heres the order...

    Kingston 1GB
    Sandisk 1GB Ultra II
    Sandisk 1 GB

    Though they have an order, their difference was very VERY minor. I mean, using the Castlevania Intro test, the Kingston ran near perfect minus a couple of spots where it jumped once, the other two were decent, but not really a noticeable diff.

    So all in all, its cheaper than Sandisk and works the best. I give my vote for Kingston.

    And as for places to order, I give Divineo.cn (note its CN not COM) is A++ for the 3-4 times ive ordered from them.
     
  8. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    You must have the wrong format for the sandisks, because the movies were 100% perfect for me using the newer firmwares for both ultra II and regular.
     
  9. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    I can vouch for the Ultra II as well, with the updates, castlevania ran without a single jump. as well as the saving time in animal crossing is less, and the multiplayer (ds2ds) metroid, smooth as silk. i havent had a single frame skip.
     
  10. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    Probably, the two sandisks were in a Motorla RAZR before this... hehe, oops... I think I'll reformat them now >.>
     
  11. pte

    Member pte GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    The A-Datas have worked well in the past on M3s, so the 1gb 60x microSD model should be nothing different. It is dirt cheap and as fast as the KingMAX cards.
     
  12. Scavenger

    Newcomer Scavenger Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Sweden
    what did u use for castlevania? Software Reset, 4xDMA, Trim-Rom etc,

    and what should be the "best" buy if u are geting a M3 lite and dount whant bugs and slowdowns?
     
  13. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    I used 4x, SoftReset, Trimmed

    go with the company you believe is better, i personally went with a Sandisk because i've never had any problems with them in my camera's and what not. but i've never used a kingston, becuase i've never had problems with SD. so it's up to you. both should work perfectly though
     
  14. Scavenger

    Newcomer Scavenger Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Sweden
    on the site where they talk compabilety (link erly in tread) u need 2 start GBA roms whit start and cant use A. whats that about?
     
  15. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    the start button add's a loader to the rom, so homebrew games that didnt come with one will work. I've only ever had to use it on homebrew, nds roms will work with A. i think GBA's will too.
     
  16. waiwai

    Newcomer waiwai Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I got a Sandisk UltraII MicroSD. Everything works just great and fast. Most .NDS software works with 4x DMA, so great speeds there!
     
  17. sandreezy

    Newcomer sandreezy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States

    i have the bundle from RHS. for some reason i freeze in the middle of castlevania intro. i also freezed once on nintendogs...

    i thought the castlvania intro was supposed to be flawless now [​IMG]
     
  18. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    updated to the lastest firmware and game manager? and patches it as 4x, fastboot?
     
  19. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    that or wrong formatting, read people, read.
     
  20. MikeHunt79

    Newcomer MikeHunt79 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    when formatting, is it best to use fat32 or fat16?
     

Share This Page