Best flashcard to invest in?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Baccabechoppin, Sep 11, 2015.

1. Baccabechoppin
    OP

Baccabechoppin GBAtemp's Finest Bacca!

Aug 10, 2015
    Australia
    Magnolia Town
    Hi everyone! This is my first time exploring this area of the site so I though I might ask the question. What flashcard is the better one? Sky3ds or Gateway? What functions does each one have? Do they work on 9.9.0-26? (I assume they do but I'll ask anyway). What roms do they play? Do they play DS and 3DS or just 3DS? But overall which one is more cost effective? I don't feel like forking out hundreds of dollars for a flashcard (and getting it delivered to Aus would probably make it more expensive anyway)

2. DaftMink

DaftMink GBAtemp Regular

Mar 19, 2015
    United States
    The Gateway card requires a system firmware under 9.2 to install and function.
    It may be updated in the future to support higher, but right now if you have 9.3 or higher you can't use it.

The Sky3DS card will run on all system firmware but due to new anti-piracy features in new games won't be compatible.
    It has however been around awhile, and still supports firmware 10.

Margen67 likes this.
  3. MattKimura

MattKimura 3DS & WiiU Enthusiast

Jun 30, 2014
    United States
    More like should you go with firmware 10.0.0, or 9.2.0 and below. Because the only option you have for 9.3+ is Sky3DS.
    For 9.2 or lower users, you can simply use Rxtools which requires no flashcard. Just a big enough SD card for the 3DS.

Sure you can get Gateway, but it's up to you if you want to spend that $70 for almost no reason. Sure its slightly easier adding games, but overall you're gonna get your hands dirty with the whole 3DS hacking process. You have to learn how to get things done and using Gateway isn't that much easier to use compared to Rxtools.

It's up to you OP

Margen67, duwen and Baccabechoppin like this.
  4. Quantumcat

Quantumcat Dead and alive