1. ashaman25

    ashaman25 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just had a look at the Zero and it looks really nice! Might have to get a couple to attach to my switch/phone
     
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,058
    Country:
    United States
    Get the new Zero2
     
    ashaman25 likes this.
  3. AutoCad_UA

    AutoCad_UA Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Best device for GBA is GBA SP 101 + EZ Flash Omega
     
  4. vree

    vree GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use a GBA SP-AGS101 (Backlit) with EZ FLASH OMEGA.

    BUT, I advise against an EZ FLASH OMEGA because of their corrupt/save issues. Just get an Everdrive if you want to play on the original hardware.

    If not a PSP, Vita, 3DS does a nice job too.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2020
  5. jonothan.stevens

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Now that we have fully-hacked DSi and DSi XL available to us, I kinda suggest looking at one of those models to see what you think. They are exceedingly cheap on eBay, especially if you buy a Japanese model...and if you install Twilight Menu++, you just have your GBA games on the SD card and off you go. I keep waiting for someone to use the DSI XL / LL to make a GB Macro+ like people have been doing with the DS Lite.
     
  6. Feffe

    Feffe GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Italy
    Looking here, GBARunner2 compatibility isn't perfect, though. Or did it see a major compatibility bump I missed?
     
  7. Plasmaster09

    Plasmaster09 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2020
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a classic Nintendo DS (not Lite), go for that.
     
  8. Boesy

    Boesy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The screen quality of DS looks rather inferior to the DS Lite.

    I don't use my DS Lite much these days, but it's a great way to play GBA games. With the actual cartridge than a rom (which can be done on practically any device nowadays).
     
    vree likes this.
  9. Plasmaster09

    Plasmaster09 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2020
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    *shrugs*
     
  10. BORTZ

    BORTZ The Amazing
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,829
    Country:
    United States
    Last I knew, the GBA core for retroarch 3DS had a massive memory leak. Is that still the case?
     
  11. Boesy

    Boesy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That really doesn't help. I had a DS and didn't like it due to the darkness of the screen, it was almost as bad as the GBC/GBA days (without backlit).
     
    vree likes this.
  12. MajinCubyan

    MajinCubyan The Funky Super Saiyan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    659
    Country:
    United States
    Vita is really good for it. The psp is pretty good too for the most part. For a while I was using the 3ds vc for my gba needs. I've since moved onto mGBA for the Switch.

    For ideal portability, I would recommend the Vita. Followed by the psp(if you can find the Go, kudos) and then 3ds
     
  13. Plasmaster09

    Plasmaster09 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2020
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    no, the shrug was me going "eh idk if it makes it all that worse but ok"
     
  14. Clydefrosch

    Clydefrosch GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,506
    Country:
    Germany
    no, it never had, but the dynarec is buggy so it very randomly crashes, sometimes after 2 hours, sometimes after 2 seconds.

    as for devices, any smartphone with a bluetooth controller should do the trick (any 50-100$ no contract phone should work for this and many other systems), the vita does too, for the most part (i would always go for the retroarch cores cause of more functions, only a few games have meaningful issues like missing animations in golden sun)

    3ds of any variety (even a 60$ original 2ds) work if you don't need/want savestates and fast forward.

    beyond that, odroids,
    Game Kiddy GDK 350, pocket go 2 or retro game 350 are good for gameboy advance.

    and there's more, here's a short list

    gameboy should work well enough on all of these, many can deal with ps1 and some with n64.
    take a
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2020 at 7:31 PM
  15. jonothan.stevens

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    To be honest, I'm not sure if there's been a compatibility bump or not. I've actually never even looked at that page until just now. I just know that I recently got a DSi LL and hacked it, loaded the newest version of Twilight Menu++, and have been happy ever since. I haven't tried nearly every GBA game in the ROMset, but all the ones I have tried have worked well enough that I didn't notice any difference, including weird stuff like the patched SMA-SMB3 ROM that has the palette and all the e-reader levels patched in. Playing that and stuff like Summon Night on the DSi LL screen has been pretty dang nice.

    edit: Looking at that page, it seems that GBARunner2 just got an update on 2-16-2020, so it's at least still under active development.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2020 at 7:43 PM
    Feffe likes this.
  16. BORTZ

    BORTZ The Amazing
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,829
    Country:
    United States
    So is retroarch still not the way to go? Sorry for being obtuse.
     
  17. Clydefrosch

    Clydefrosch GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,506
    Country:
    Germany
    on a 3ds system? no. honestly, the only feasible way for gba on 3ds is virtual console injection. which is fine, it plays the games like you would on a flashcard or the original system. you just can't safe and quit whenever you want.
     
    BORTZ likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - currently, device, games