Best brand of Micro SD card for AceKard 2?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by m12, May 17, 2008.

May 17, 2008
  1. m12
    OP

    Newcomer m12 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Which do you recommend? I'm looking at one with 2 GB of space. THanks
     
  2. abaddon41_80

    Member abaddon41_80 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Country:
    United States
    Kingston and SanDisk are the best, in my experience, but I never have had trouble with A-Data or Transcend.
     
  3. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    Kingston, definitely. I'm not totally sure about their 2GB, but their 1GB Japanese made ones are the best EVAR!
     
  4. m12
    OP

    Newcomer m12 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I heard that there's problems with Castlebania Portrait of Ruin with the Acekard 2. Is this true? If so, is there a specific Micro SD card that will run this game smoothly?
     
  5. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I think PoR just has some very tight timings and flashcards tend not to handle the timings correctly resulting in the lock-ups and crashes.
     
  6. Kellicros

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    People has been recommending Kingston (Japan) for better performance, I have heard Sandisk cards are slower and could problems on a few picky games. But if by any chance you're able to go over 2GB, I believe any Class6 cards will do.
     
  7. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    I just switched up from a sandisc 2gig, to an A-Data class6 4gig (20usd @ newegg!) and I recommend it highly. No stutter at all on Caslevania:DoS. I had to use a SDformatter to get it going properly (quake2 was choppy). Now it's aces, bro. [​IMG]
     
  8. SchuchWun

    Member SchuchWun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    The Burbs
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a Kingston 2GB and it works flawlessly with any game i've tried. no lagging or anything. Compared to my SanDisk, Kingston is King...

    The lifetime warranty is well worth it though.
     
  9. vboy

    Newcomer vboy Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Australia
    no problems at all with a-data class 6 4gb sdhc. it runs both castlevanias great including the opening cinematic. boot times are also very fast.
     
  10. lewjay

    Member lewjay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    2GB, Kingston japan looks like the way to go, for 4GB make sure to get Class 6. I'm using A-data 4GB, no slow downs at all with castlevania por/dos. [​IMG]
     
  11. rainbowsix08

    Newcomer rainbowsix08 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Malaysia
    what about transcend micro-sdhc 4gb class 6, is it good??
     
  12. Domination

    Member Domination GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,127
    Location:
    Your Mum
    Country:
    Singapore
    Kingston IMO is the best I have a 1GB Micro SD and 4GB Micro SDHC... Sandisk is quite good too, though I never tried it before but the m2 card was good.
     
  13. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i recommend the following
    toshiba
    kingston
    transcend
    apacer
     
  14. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    We only have pqi, Kingston, A-data, Transcend. I also found 2 versions of Sandisk so I'm not sure what Sandisk to use.

    I tried the ones I mentioned except Transcend. I have yet to try it out.
     
  15. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The more expensive SanDisks (their Ultra models) are very good. Way better than my 2GB Kingston (Japan)! [​IMG]
     
  16. jabjab

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    those have been tested elsewhere to be virtually identical to the standard 'class 4' ones - probably just selected from the class 4 batches.
     
  17. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, the Ultra cards all seem to be Class 4 or 6. I've been waiting for my class 6 for weeks now. Grr.
     
  18. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    The only card i have problems is with a verbatim 8 gig class 4 it freezes at random no matter what device i have it in [​IMG] but my 2 4 gig gig kingstons are well good as is my 2 gig but my fave card is my 16 gig sandisk works flawless now i cant wait for a 32 gig to be released [​IMG]
     

Share This Page