before i make a nand backup with bootmii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ricflairandy, May 22, 2009.

May 22, 2009
  1. ricflairandy
    OP

    Member ricflairandy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What i mean is, should i install anything else first, is there a perfect state to have it in before you back up or is it just a case of back up straight away and then mess.
     
  2. Carty1970

    Newcomer Carty1970 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could do both, it doesn't hurt.

    Backup your NAND once you install BootMii and you will always have a safety net. Copy the file (It's 512MB) and stick it on a PC or somewhere safe. Then customize the hell out of your Wii and get it to your ideal state, then do a second backup.
     
  3. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    528 MB... actually.
     
  4. ricflairandy
    OP

    Member ricflairandy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks guys, done that, now ill set about perfecting the setup.

    Out of interest, what kind of setup woiuld you guys say is the perect one.

    Sys menu 4 with preloader?
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My setup is bootmii (as boot2), preloader .29, and system menu 4.0 (with waninkoko's updater) and patched ios60
    I've set bootmii to autoboot to system menu (after the 5 second countdown), but then instead of the system menu comes preloader. Which then will boot directly to usb loader
     
  6. ricflairandy
    OP

    Member ricflairandy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sounds good to me mate, thanks.

    If i go with that, do i need any other custom or normal ios or would they allready be included in that. Im a bit confused with seening people say you need ciosxx for game xxx etc
     
  7. atomikramp

    Member atomikramp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    Italy
    i would make a clean dump first
    just install bootmii as boot2 and then make a backup of a clean wii, then you can mess up whatever you want
    once you have a wii with all you need, make a second backup
    this way you will always have a way to have your wii working and future proff, in case you will need an official update in the future from nintendo or anything.
     

Share This Page