Hacking Been out of DS homebrew/backup/carts for over a decade, need advice!

cammelspit

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
As the title suggests, I haven't been in Ds homebrew hacking, flashcards or backups for many years. My wife want's a 3DS and I told her I would buy one only is a good flashcard solution was available. So, I guess you can consider me the newest of newbs when it comes to 3DS since I have never even owned a 3ds. Back int he day, DS card stuff was easy as pie with the right setup. I am a veteran of XBOX, PS2 and GameCube hacking and mods so I don't need to be taught how to double-click an icon, only I DO need some advice on what the best available setup for 3DS is. I will be buying a brand new, never used, new 3DS XL so I will assume it's on a late version of the firmware. If all you guys would have access to was a brand new unit right from Walmart, what solution would you choose for homebrew, rom loading etc? Homebrew being especially important.

Just start with the assumption I have no idea about any kind of 3DS hacks and you will be on the right track in helping me make my wife the happiest woman on the planet. :D

In advance, I will say thank you to anyone willing to spend some time helping me find a good solution to get into 3ds stuff. If any community can do it, it's you all!

cammelspit

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
just use https://3ds.guide/
if you get the right 3ds version you can do it without paying for a flashcard
but some new 3ds have the newest version and you need a flashcard for that
its really simple and easier than other consoles just read that guide before buying anything