Been away from my 360 for about 6mos, what to do next?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by mrwienerdog, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    I haven't touched my box for about 4 months, and now that this term of school is over, it's time to fire up again. I have (I believe) IExtreme 1.something or other. What is my best course of action? I think that to play the newer games, I need to get IExtreme 2? I have a Pioneer burner (not LiteOn) - how much of an issue is this? I heard there was an IExtreme 3 coming - should I wait? I don't flash it myself, I get a buddy to do it for 25 bucks, and I don't want the pain in the ass of having to go to him twice in a couple of months.

    Any feedback would be appreciated, I feel very out of the loop....

    Should I look at hardmodding?
     
  2. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    First: No way around updating the firmware/modding the console, other than going legit, especially for the newer games. Microsoft is stepping up the game against piracy, now they don't only want to ban you, they also want that your burned copies don't work anymore. New games have a different format, called XGD3, which makes them bigger (8.13 GB instead of 7.29 GB), resulting that normal burners can't burn all data. Some games (namely Forza 4, afaik) check if all data is present (called a CIV-Check) and throw an error at you if this isn't the case. Not to mention that you'll be probably banned with such incomplete backups. So yes, I'll recommend the special burner.
    Also, Microsoft introduced AP2.5, random checks that they can update at random times, which also make the game unplayable. LT 3.0 is supposed to finally fix this problem once and for all, and should arrive soon.

    So, Summary: LT 3.0 is coming soon, I would wait with flashing until it's released. In the meantime, have a look at an XKey, since it's easier to update, has faster updates (at least until now) and you don't need to burn the games. If you are already banned or don't care about XBL, I recommend to JTAG/Glitch your Box, cheap price, great features, fast fixes. In the end, it's your choice.

    My personal opinion:

    You want to keep XBL: Go legit.
    You don't care about XBL: Glitch/JTAG.
     
  3. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    I couldn't care a less about being banned. Should have mentioned that originally. i thought that you couldn't jtag newer consoles? I have an arcarde ed. that I didn't think I could do that to...

    If you can jtag these consoles, could anyone shoot me a link as to how to do this?

    Thanks.
     
  4. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    One word, man...


    Skyrim.
     
  5. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    Skyrim is an excellent word.

    However, what do you mean (in this context)? Will it help me to make the decision on how to proceed?
     
  6. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    You can't JTAG, but RGH is an option. It does everything a JTAG can do. Check here http://libxenon.org/index.php?topic=160.0
     
  7. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the link..... Will check it out...
     
  8. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,873
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you decide on installing a RGH in your 360 I'd recommend getting a Coolrunner TX.

    Here is a great tutorial on how to install it.
    http://www.team-xecuter.com/forums/showthread.php?t=76193
     

Share This Page