Hacking Been away for some time - can the Vita run PSP games or PS2 games?

dancooper93

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Can the Vita be hacked for a start?

And if so, can it run PSP ISO's extracted from UMD's or PS2 games?

If so, how do I do this?

Thanks!

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Trophies
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
Country
United States
It's never been able to play PS2 games.

There is official support for PSP games, but only those bought online.

There has been some homebrew, but they rely on online shop games and Sony is pulling+patching those exploits within hours sometimes, and even then it only gives you a limited PSP-mode (usermode homebrew only).

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Trophies
XP
Country
Poland
There has been some homebrew, but they rely on online shop games and Sony is pulling+patching those exploits within hours sometimes, and even then it only gives you a limited PSP-mode (usermode homebrew only).
Total Noob's solution gives you kernel access, so it's a CFW equivalent for the Vita's PSP sandbox. That said, yes, you gotta hunt down an exploit first.

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Trophies
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
Country
United States
Total Noob's solution gives you kernel access, so it's a CFW equivalent for the Vita's PSP sandbox. That said, yes, you gotta hunt down an exploit first.
Did that ever actually, you know, come out in a usable form?

'Cause if not then it's not relevant to the OP, who I'm sure is more interested in what's actually possible. :P

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Trophies
XP
Country
Poland
So was I thinking of something else that had the game name leaked early and patched?