Beatles Rock Band bricked my friend's wii.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Schlupi, Sep 29, 2009.

Sep 29, 2009
  1. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, then, I got a big problem.

    I heard from comments that the Beatles Rock Band update was safe for a Wiikey'ed Wii.

    However, I ran the update and now I got a brick.

    I thought I previously installed preloader... But it's not working either.

    So now I have his bricked, non-preloader'ed, Wiikey'ed Wii...

    and I don't know how to fix it.


    Please, somebody have a solution.

    I heard there was a disc that could unbrick it (Pink Fish?) or some update disc of some sort? Could I use that?
     
  2. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry to bump, but anybody?
     
  3. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Insufficient info to diagnose so 2 questions.
    1. Was the game from the same region as the Wii itself?
    2. Was the Wii ever downgraded back to 3.2 from say 4.0 or 4.1?
     
  4. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    No, it was on the original FW because it was a launch day Wii, and updated to 3.2 and never changed.

    And yes, it was a NTSC Beatles Rock Band ISO on a NTSC Wii.
     
  5. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    There is no way it should brick if the Region of the disc matched that of the wii and the firmware had not been downgraded back to 3.2 at some point in time.
    As for preloader are you pressing and holding the reset button immediately after powering on the wii?
    You never mentioned but I am assuming you are just getting a black screen on boot up just now.
     
  6. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, the Beatles was definitely a NTSC.

    And I am absolutely sure that I installed Preloader... But when I hold Resent on power up it doesn't work like it should...

    I'm worried that I'm just screwed.
     
  7. Retrievil

    Member Retrievil GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    A system menu update will wipe out preloader. Sorry man.

    When people say 'Rock Band update is safe for a Wiikey'ed Wii', they mean 'if all you have done to your system is put a Wiikey in, it's safe'. If all you had was a Wiikey, any update would be safe. Sounds like you had a soft modded system with a Wiikey in it, which is totally different.
     
  8. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    So... does that mean I'm absolutely out of luck?

    And I need to buy my friend a new Wii?
     
  9. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    You could try the Pink Fish Disc as you mentioned or an autobootable version of anyregionchanger on a disc. Other thing to try would be savemiifree.
     
  10. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I DLed the ARC iso from Kitt's topic, but I'm not exactly sure how to work it.

    I Burned it successfully and I tried to pop it in and nothing came up.

    As for the Pink Fishy, I'll get it right now and try it.

    Just for the record, can you tell me how the Pink Fish works?
     
  11. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Also, do I need the ARC .dol on my memory card while I'm booting the ISO?
     
  12. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry to bump this again, but I never got a final answer on this...

    I'm still hoping it can be fixed... Even though things aren't looking so good.
     

Share This Page