Batter life on iPod sucks after iOS 4

Discussion in 'iPhone, iPod & iPad' started by Delta517, Jan 3, 2011.

Jan 3, 2011
  1. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    So I updated to 4.1 from 3.1.2 here the other day. It was fine for a couple of days, but the now battery life is horrible! [​IMG] It only need to be on standby for a few hours before its empty.
    I've seen that a lot of others have had that problem too. I tried turning of Notifications, but that didn't work. [​IMG]
    Any other solutions? Do I need to update again? I rather not, since its a jailbroken. Since its jailbroken I can try to download some of those Battery log apps from Cydia if that helps. [​IMG]

    Its a iPod Touch 2g/3g MC model. [​IMG]
     
  2. Jerrrrr

    Newcomer Jerrrrr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Have had the same problem. Was caused by multitasking, which also slowed down the ipod. I solved it by flashing it again with multitasking off..

    Double press the home button to see if there are any tasks running on the background.
     
  3. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    3.1.3 should fix that issue [​IMG]

    Also, Upgrade from 4.2.1 to a LOWER iOS?!?! That's downgrading my friend [​IMG]

    Anyway, upgrade to 3.1.3
     
  4. Supersonicmonk

    Member Supersonicmonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Cymru
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it makes sense
     
  5. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh damn. I misread.

    Sorry! [​IMG]
     
  6. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    Yay! I caused iFish to fail! [​IMG]

    Anyways, I tried to see if I had something running in the background by pressing the Home Button twice, but nothing happends. I don't think multitasking works on iPod. [​IMG]
     
  7. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    By default, the iPod touch 2G does not support multitasking. You'll need to change the capabilities inside of /System/Library/CoreServices/SpringBoard.app/N72AP.plist to allow it.
     
  8. Jerrrrr

    Newcomer Jerrrrr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I also have this exact model, and the jailbreak tool i used just had a checkbox to turn multitasking on. Since Delta517's iPod is also jailbroken it could be possible..
     
  9. aiRWaLKRe

    Member aiRWaLKRe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Location:
    Orlando
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think you should be putting any type of cooking batter on your ipod [​IMG]
     
  10. metamaster

    Member metamaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
    Canada
    You can use ztoggle to turn on and off multitasking and background pictures on unsupported devices (you'll notice the speed difference, believe me). You can get it through Cydia.
     
  11. KingPockets

    Newcomer KingPockets Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    This is what I did to make my ipod battery life back to normal on my Ipod touch 3g and my brother's ipod touch 2g MB model on 4.1 firmware.

    Go to Settings>General>Reset

    1. Reset Network Settings
    2. After it reboots, reset location warnings
    3. Reset All Settings

    Then I turned all push notications off and then hard resetted my ipod touch. After it rebooted, I turned wifi back on and it doesn't drain anymore.

    I think it would be better if you disable the push notications launch daemon so that push notications won't work before resetting. (I have always did this first) [​IMG]
     
  12. WolfSpider

    Member WolfSpider GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    Try turning location services off.
     
  13. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    That wasn't funny.
     

Share This Page