Batch sav file converter?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Pyrofyr, Jun 25, 2008.

Jun 25, 2008

Batch sav file converter? by Pyrofyr at 6:50 AM (2,779 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    I appreciate Shuny's sav file converter and all, but honestly is there anything that can batch convert? It would be nice, and is near necessary when swapping from one flashcart to another.
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Convert from what to what? There are a lot of save converters, and most only support a few formats.
     
  3. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    One like Shuny's would be nice, but elsewise for me specifically it's from M3 Real to SCDS1.
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Does that actually require conversion? I thought they used the same save format (raw 512KB save files), and I also thought that the Real somewhat recently changed the extension of the save files from .0 to .sav, making them exactly the same as SCDS1 save files.
     
  5. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    ! I'll have to try it, if that's the case, well then thanks, thanks a lot. :3 And yea they changed it to .SAV.
     
  6. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Turns out M3 Real uses RAW 256 KB, I'll try converting then try again.

    I've tried loading TWEWY, all saves named after the game, I can only suppose that it doesn't matter if the long name matches and how the hell do I change (or batch change) the name that the SCDS1 reads the saves as?
     
  7. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
  8. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    I found some 512KB copies from R4 and those won't work either ._.;
    I'll give the download a try too though.

    It uses a .SCI file, so I do have to convert :S Just found that out by making a TWEWY save. @_@
     
  9. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    This is the first time I've heard of an .SCI file. Are you sure that's the in-game save and not an instant save (AKA real time save or save state)? You can tell easily by the file size; an in-game save will be 512KB at most, while a real time save will be about 5MB.

    Also, do you have the SCDS1 set to write the save directly to the memory card instead of specifying the save type? If not, try that.
     
  10. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    .SCI files are RTS-savefiles, Scds1 uses .sav like most other flashkarts.
     
  11. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I thought: SCI = SuperCard Instant save. These will never be compatible or convertible between different flashcarts. The .sav files should be though.
     
  12. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    SAV files seem to be 256? Or so they convert to using Shuny's for SCDS1 D:
    Explains why my R4 ain't working.


    Yea, 256 lulz... so now I just need to change them and try them out :S Not that it matters, I beat the game and there's nothing after that.
     
  13. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The SCDS (and slot-2 Supercards for that matter) used to use 256 KB saves, but switched over to 512 KB about the time the Pokemon games came out. So Shuny's converter needs to be updated to reflect this fact?
     
  14. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    The 256KB ones worked for me o.o; For TWEWY anyhow, some of my older ones needed no changes at all and worked with 512KB like NEW Super Mario Bros o.o;
     
  15. AXYPB

    Member AXYPB GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    593
    Country:
    United States
    If all you need to do is change the extension, use ReNamer. It can make short work of any task that requires changing any part of a file name en masse.
     
  16. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I actually used to use that for mp3s, and therefore already have it. It's good for a lot of things ;3

    Now I'm just finding a way to get my 512KB saves to 256KB saves.

    Another thing I'mw ondernig aboutis some saves have actual sizes stated like "4KB" or w/e next to it, will it be that size if it's determined, or no?
     
  17. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    How the hell am I supposed to fix this bug if nobody report it to me ?

    Use the support forum or write me a mail if you find a bug ! :/
     
  18. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I never use the converter, so I was merely asking a question to see if it did need fixing or not. I don't know if it's bad behavior or not.
     
  19. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Shuny, do you ever plan on releasing some sort of offline version of your converter? :S
     

Share This Page