1. thorasgar

    OP thorasgar Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,780
    Country:
    United States
    I was just checking up on the current GW prices and ran across this on the modchipdirect.com product page. Seems there was a QC problem. Good to know for any recent purchasers having a problem. It is not clear from this how many if any made it to the wild.

    Will be in stock around the 23rd or 24th of April (there was a 3+ week stock shortage, but we just run out of stock today 16th of April. We have more on the way already). You can preorder, and we will be able to ship to you as soon as we have stock. The batch we where getting on the 20th was stopped half way here as Gateway team produced a batch with faulty SD card slots, which would have been a nightmare. Luckily, we are getting a newer 100% tested batch.
     
  2. eggsample

    eggsample punahussy
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Poland
    Good to know. Fortunately I received from the main distributor good batch and all cards are working properly.
     
  3. GreenZeldaCap

    GreenZeldaCap Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the heads up. I'll hold off for now.
     
  4. Axido

    Axido GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    933
    Country:
    Germany
    Well, if someone sold these faulty cards for, let's say, 20 bucks each, I'd buy a few of them.
     
  5. Deleted-19228

    Deleted-19228 Newbie

    Sounds like a made up story to calm people who have preorders in.
     
    bostonBC and Deleted-355425 like this.
  6. tbb043

    tbb043 Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,755
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes bad batches happen. There was a bad batch of DSTWO that wouldn't work on some systems, for instance. But if only one store brings it up, yeah maybe.
     
  7. thorasgar

    OP thorasgar Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,780
    Country:
    United States
    Very possible. Gateway sure as hell isn't going to open their mouths about it.
     
  8. netovsk

    netovsk GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,016
    Country:
    Brazil
    On a decent enough price cut they would still sell since all you would have to do is limit yourself to running .cia
     
  9. Ra1d

    Ra1d GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Country:
    Canada
    I wouldn't say it's made up because my mSD slot on gateway is kind of bad, although I don't use it a lot, when I do upon inserting it feels like something is in the way of my mSD, but in the end it still goes through and clicks.
     
  10. I'd just rework the card cage, easy fix.
     
    ravihpa likes this.
  11. misterb98

    misterb98 Moral Gateway User. Wat.
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't matter too much for a O3ds, they could just downgrade, use CFW to install devmenu, inject the CFW Nand into a regular GW emuNAND partition, and update, then install all games as CIA.

    It would be a problem for N3ds though.
     
  12. Ra1d

    Ra1d GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Country:
    Canada



    Why would you go through that complicated process just to install cias ? When you can just put Devmenu.3ds on the microSD inside your gateway cart, and use it to install cias in GW mode on any FW version( up to 9.2 of course) or any kind of 3DS (New,Old, 2DS).
     
  13. misterb98

    misterb98 Moral Gateway User. Wat.
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    Because these ones have faulty micro sd card slots, you can't run any .3ds files.
     
    Ra1d likes this.
  14. Ra1d

    Ra1d GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Country:
    Canada

    Good point, totally forgot what the topic was about :)
     
    thorasgar likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - faulty, Batch, slots