Banner Bricked Wii Fix - Works on 3.3U Firmware!!!!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by samhush, Jul 17, 2008.

1. samhush
    OP

Newcomer samhush Member

United States
    First of all I know I'm a noob here but I thought this deserved its own thread since my other post is buried in the other bricked Wii thread.

So, you bricked your Wii while trying to edit banners in a .wad and now you get a black screen after you push A at the Health & Safety warning?

If you haven't upgraded to 3.3, you probably already know a solution. If you have upgraded to 3.3 (can't boot trucha signed discs), there is still hope!

First off, hope to God that you have the following:

WiiKey (not sure about other chips) installed in your Wii and updated.
    Twilight Hack save file already on your Wii (I hope you reinstalled it or ran the TW hack after updating to 3.3!)
    Untouched NTSC (not sure about other regions) zelda.iso

You'll also need to get Wii BootMe and WadManager 1.1 from WiiBrew or another source.

The process is simple:

First, make sure you leave the .wad that bricked your Wii in the first place right where it was on your SD card.

Place the WadManager boot.elf in the root of your SD card.

Patch the zelda.iso using BootMe (follow the instructions in the BootMe readme for details on how to do this correctly).

Burn the patched image to a DVD (I used Nero but I'm sure ImgBurn works also).

Turn on your Wii.

At the Health & Safety screen, do not press A, simply insert your patched Zelda disc.

It should autoboot and then you can load the Twilight Hack!

Run Wad Manager from the root of your SD card and uninstall the offending .wad file.

Reboot and you should be looking at your Wii Channel Menu once again!!!!

I hope this will help others with the same problem.

[​IMG]

2. fly_us

Member fly_us GBAtemp Regular

United States
    only if the Twillight hack save is in the console already.. [​IMG]

3. lime_slusho

Newcomer lime_slusho Member

United States