Banner Bricked Wii 4.2U w/o priiloader

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Vendo232, Apr 14, 2013.

Apr 14, 2013
  1. Vendo232
    OP

    Newcomer Vendo232 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Hi

    I don`t know why but I was playing with my kids wii and as they play Mario all the time wanted to create them Channer forwarder for the game on USB via Crap. I managed to install Super Mario channel which worked great for USB Loader GX and then I decided to do the same for Galaxy 2 and Mario 9. This seems to be the issue. One of those WADs was broken or wrong size or something and my console is gone.

    I softmoded my Wii in 2010 so I do not remember correctly but I should have bootmii definitively not priiloader.

    When I start Wii the first screan appears , I press 'A' and still can hear the channel menu sound but w/o screen. The screan remains black and after few seconds even the sound ends and console freezes , still with black screen.

    So not having priiloader and MAYBE have bootmii what can I do?

    I do not have chip it is 2010 wii only with softmode and when I press restart it doesn`t give me any menu.

    thank you any help
     
  2. kp_centi

    Member kp_centi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    Mario Party 9 Is what I assume you meant by Mario 9 is a Banner Brick. CRAP should have warned you about making one for it.
     
  3. Vendo232
    OP

    Newcomer Vendo232 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    thanks kp_centi, is there a way fixint my console w/o priiloader or I should start looking for replacement?
     
  4. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Your console is chipped so perhaps there is a way out of this mess, fret not. You could use SaveMiiFrii if you have some genuine Wii games.

    EDIT: Misread the OP, nevermind. ;)
     
  5. Vendo232
    OP

    Newcomer Vendo232 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    hey Foxi4 thank you for your post. my console is not chipped so I assume I can`t use SaveMiiFrii
     
  6. scooby74029

    Member scooby74029 "fake coder"

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    oklahoma, USA
    Country:
    United States
    best bet is to get ahold of deadlyfoes on these forums here (if you did a nand backup ) and have him reprogram the nand for you he is legit and very good at what he does
     
    Foxi4 likes this.
  7. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    You can use SaveMiiFrii an an unchipped one, I just gave two ideas. :P

    If you have a genuine game with an earlier firmware than your own and a Gamecube controller, you have a fair chance of booting your Wii, even without Priiloader. Put the game in, take a GC controller apart, press the Up, Down, Left and Right points on the D-Pad with the controller in Port #4 and wait for Magic to happen. May take a few tries.

     
  8. Vendo232
    OP

    Newcomer Vendo232 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    thank you Foxi4, what game do you suggest be the best if I`m on 4.2U?
     
  9. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Any exploitable game that you could use to launch homebrew, really. You could Autoboot SSBB and use Smash Stack to run some homebrew and remove the broken banner - Smash Stack is the easiest one out there because it's loaded from the SD Slot and does not require you to have the exploitable save file on the console already.

    To conclude, you'll need Super Smash Bros. Brawl, a dismantled Gamecube controller in Port #4 and an SD card with the exploit - that should let you boot the homebrew necessary to fix your system. If that fails, your System Menu or some other necessary IOS is borked.

    If that's the case, contact DeadlyFoez - he's a Wii magician, he'll fix.
     
  10. Vendo232
    OP

    Newcomer Vendo232 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    bardzo dziękuję Foxi4 , will try your way
     
  11. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Good luck. Remember, if you don't succeed at first, re-try (as seen on the video, the timing has to be just right). As long as you have a disc in, it should boot the game and the expense is minimal.
     
  12. Vendo232
    OP

    Newcomer Vendo232 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    here is the guide I found and which will try duplicate this week, but wont have Drivekey and not sure what the "Diagnostic disc check off" means

    To use this method you need:
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Diagnostic disc check off
    Functioning system menu IOS
    Gamecube controller and ability to take off the case
    Retail Brawl copy
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    OR

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Drivekey
    DVD9 version of Brawl, retail or god kill you, pirated
    Functioning system menu IOS
    GC controller with ability to open it
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    The method for this to work is you should be remove the casing and remove the piece of plastic that stops you from pressing all 4 directions on the Dpad. Put this GC controller in Port 4 and then put the Brawl game in, hold down all 4 directions and turn it on. When you see a black screen with writing in the bottom right, let go and press A.

    This should let you load Brawl if you have a drivekey or the diagnostic disc check off, otherwise you can't autoboot the game. Make sure you remove the SD card on the first load and delete every custom stage on your Wii, make sure you delete your original private folder before loading this (or rename it). Then, exit the stage builder, put in the SD card reload it and it should load a black screen and then Loadmii.

    here is the Smash Stack guide to prepare your SD card

    https://sites.google.com/site/completesg/exploits/smash-stack
     
  13. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    If you wan't to fix a bannerbrick via savemiifrii, you need a modchip and compatible dvd drive. Updating the system menu will not fix the issue.

    Diagnostic Disc Check is a check the system menu does on wii disc to see if it is a Nintendo recovery disc. This check prevents retail games from loading in the recovery menu. This can be patched out with priiloader or startpatch. Without this patch retail disc do not load from recovery menu. The only other way to load games from RM is to patch the disc to autoboot, and load it with a modchip.
     
  14. Vendo232
    OP

    Newcomer Vendo232 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you Mauifrog so it seems that the only chance in my case is modchip and autoboot game.

    Conclusion today seems to me that it will be probably cheaper/easier to just buy used Wii ( ~50$ ) and do the softmod and this time make sure tha priiloader is up and running before I start messing with the system.

    :-( learning the lesson hard way as usual
     
  15. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Have you TRIED to autoboot SSBB for the Smash Stack? Even if you don't have the game, if you could go find someone to lend it to you or even rent it it's at least worth the try.
     
  16. Vendo232
    OP

    Newcomer Vendo232 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    I`ve not tried but I do not have modchip ( so can`t play burned DVDs ) and I do not have priiload so I can`t switch off Diagnostic Disc Check.

    From the MAUIFROG post I understood that even if I boot to RM it will not autoboot SSBB.

    ..but will try it before I dump the Wii
     
  17. Vendo232
    OP

    Newcomer Vendo232 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    I`ve just tried to put my Wii into Recovery mode and used SSBB retail NTSC disk and after couple of seconds the Recovery Mode turns to black screen.
    Here is a video I took to check if I have not forgotten about something. Let me know if I should start looking for a new Wii

     
  18. Vendo232
    OP

    Newcomer Vendo232 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    let me know what to do with my brick



    vendo232 at gmail.com
     

Share This Page