Bandwidth Moniter?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by moozxy, Sep 27, 2007.

Sep 27, 2007

Bandwidth Moniter? by moozxy at 6:09 PM (999 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. moozxy
    OP

    Member moozxy hamboning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does anyone know of a free bandwidth moniter that is easy to use?
    I just want to put it on one computer connected to a router, that shows overall bandwidth usage by each computer connected to the network.
    I'd like something like this http://traffic-counter.digitbyte-studio.qarchive.org/ but you gotta pay for that and I'm not sure whether it will work for networks.

    Mainly I want to use it so I will know whether I have gone over my download allowance. Apparently 3 computers in my house are using over the 40gb cap.

    Oh and also what sort of internet activities aside from actual downloading uses up the most bandwidth?
     
  2. unr

    Member unr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Country:
    Lithuania
    Try ntop

    Don`t know how about windows port, but linux version works very well.
    A bit resource intensive though.
     
  3. moozxy
    OP

    Member moozxy hamboning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    O.o I can't even make sense of the site.
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Caps would never do for me.

    Anyhow most routers (which I assume stays on 24/7) will show the amount of data that has gone through them. Failing that your ISP should be able to say roughly what goes.

    As for bandwidth:
    viruses are a big one (you get hit with one that makes your machine a DDOS operative or spam relay and watch usage go up.

    Youtube, myspace and ilk most of these pages are badly constructed with a mess of stuff in them: flv files can easily clock 10 megs and beyond (multiply this by however many you might watch in a row and yeah)

    Games: stuff like MMORPGs are the obvious ones but FPS and such take their toll as well.
     
  5. Strokemouth

    Member Strokemouth GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    What type of router do you have? I use Tomato Firmware on my old Linksys WRT54G and that has a nice bandwidth monitor in it. Check that site for a screenshot of it. Might be a little easier than trying something like ntop, which would be a little overkill for just tracking bandwidth usage.
     
  6. moozxy
    OP

    Member moozxy hamboning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the Netgear DG834G. How would I see the bandwidth usage through the router?

    Oh and Fast, what ISP are you with? I've never been on a package with caps until now, and that was only cos the broadband was free with the landline..
     
  7. aligborat69

    Member aligborat69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Bandwidth Monitor Pro 1.30 is exellent, shows day, week, month, year usage!
     
  8. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    I use dd-wrt on my Buffalo WHR-HP-G54, but I don't think it supports your router.
     
  9. moozxy
    OP

    Member moozxy hamboning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm gonna check out Bandwidth Monitor Pro, thanks for the suggestion!

    Ah question: Do I have to install this on the computer connected to the router or will any do?
     
  10. aligborat69

    Member aligborat69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    I got it installed on all my machines, it logs all network traffic in and out of your pc. If that is what you want. :-)
     
  11. moozxy
    OP

    Member moozxy hamboning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah I seeee!

    Thanks for the help [​IMG]
     
  12. cornaljoe

    Member cornaljoe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    523
    Country:
    United States
    Do any of these programs let you to adjust the bandwidth given to each PC aswell?
     
  13. moozxy
    OP

    Member moozxy hamboning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah! that's a good idea.. That would help me keep within the cap..
    I don't think you can with Bandwidth Monitor Pro..
     

Share This Page