Bad wad bricked my Wii...Help me!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by _emperor, Jan 15, 2010.

Jan 15, 2010
  1. _emperor
    OP

    Newcomer _emperor Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Greece
    I have a Wii 4.2E completly softmodded...Today i made a wad with the usual method (Loadstructor-1.7+cLoader-1.6)...I had already several games installed working ok and i made a quick batch of the new ones...After Wii booted and tried to access the new games i noticed that Wii freezed (second page of wii channels)...i thought something was wrong so I started deleting the previous games to understand which game caused it..If only i didnt do that...

    I re-installed all new wads and after rebooting my Wii freezes ([​IMG]) after the health notice. It seems that the bad wad is now at the first screen and causes Wii to halt...

    I have tried to place BootMii at SD card but it won't load, also tried the Bootdisc but again doesnt load.

    As far I understand I have to access emergency secret menu with some way (either via the adapter or the gamecube controller hack), but after that point what?

    My Wii is still under warranty but I am afraid to ask Nintendo to repair it, help me if there is way to fix it

    Ps. I have no NAND backup or preloader installed and Bootmii is installed as IOS [​IMG]

    Ps. My Wii is boughted after 23/03/2009..is there any excuse i could come up with Nintendo service to avoid fees?
     
  2. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    plus shipping.

    you might want to open up the wii carefully and really brick it. if you are successful, ninety wont be able to fix it and you wont get charged. if you arent successful, you still get the same idiot fees.
     
  3. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,125
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I think you're refering to savemii here (or savemiifrii, which is the thing where you put a GC controller in port 4 and press up, down, left and right at the same time on the D-pad while booting...the GC controller may have to be taken apart to allow that to work). I think you better google that a bit to see how to go from there.

    Oh, and the brick you're referring to is called a "banner brick". Perhaps that makes googling a bit easier. Though I seriously doubt it'll give you anything good to help you. [​IMG] Installing banners without precautions is like fucking without condom: it's more fun, but it could seriously hurt if you're careless.
     
  4. Davess

    Member Davess On the list :D (Thanks Haflore)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    __________________ Posts: 9326
    Country:
    Canada
    Yah, No wii nand backup + installing wads are NEVER a good thing, Next time be smarter!
     
  5. _emperor
    OP

    Newcomer _emperor Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Greece
    thanks for your information guys, i now realized how dangerous was to install wads without any nand backup...

    My question now, since i will take Wii to service...I talked with them over the phone and they said if nothing was harmed they will give me new Wii (i assume they are talking about modchip)... Will they be able to see that i have soft modded the Wii and perhaps deny fixing for free or probably will just "format/recover/..." so all data will be lost and I will be ok?

    PS. Any idea if this guide will work in my case?
     
  6. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    That guide obviously requires a modchip. You mention that Bootmii is installed but wont load - have you tried formatting a different SD card and transferring the files on your existing card to that new one? Might be worth a shot as Bootmii can be a bit finicky when it comes to sd cards.
     
  7. changeling

    Newcomer changeling Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Or if you had preloader it shoud have been as easy as booting into HBC, load wad manager and uninstall the offending wad.

    Not sure if you do manage to get into bootmii if it can boot into HBC. (I've had preloader forever, put bootmii on and made a nand backup much more recently.)
     
  8. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    If you got the HBC and cios installed, they'll see your softmod and you can be sue they charge you with a high fee.

    //EDIT:
    if you can see the healthscreen, try to access the maintence mode with holding Plus + Minus at the healthscreen and then while pressing those, hit A.
     
  9. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    If he has bootmii installed as an ios even he could use cboot2 rev16 I believe to delete the waqds with wasdmanager.. not a gaurentee though.... the rev16 works off the bootmii ios...

    Hope this helps cuz if not back to big-n ure wii will go....,
    -kitt050383
     
  10. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    @Op : Did new batch of channels you installed contains a boy and his blob? That game's banner known as a banner bricker already...

    This guide will work for you : http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=194182

    But you need a modchip that supports autoboot and plenty of games... Chips that have already configured to autoboot is preferable for the job, you can specify as such when purchasing...
     
  11. _emperor
    OP

    Newcomer _emperor Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Greece
    yes i did :-(...and imagine i removed all wads and run game through usb loader and worked ok so i thought it freezed randomly....

    i have read various guides and it seems that if i have made a proper soft mod i might be able to boot autodiscs via recovery mode, i do remember have installed various cIOS from guides but mostly for USB loading, not so sure i have installed the proper CIOS for backup discs... but i have to buy a GC controller and here they cost like 30 euros new... perhaps i could take my chances with big N service and see if i can get a clean format and not get caught..

    btw, how they will see homebrew channel, i mean they will have to access start page and see it or they can do it vial special utils/mode..?

    also i have made sure that health screen auto presses A...maybe this will get me caught...

    anyway wii here is already sold 150 so if they ask me for like 80 euros to fix it i am thinking of getting a new one....or install a modchip and fix it myself!

    PS. I remember have installed bootmii as IOS, i tried pressing +&- at boot screen nothing, also holding reset didn't worked either...
     
  12. _emperor
    OP

    Newcomer _emperor Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Greece
    Just an update, last week finally got my free Wii replacement...Hopefully this time i will take all cautions to prevent bricking it again, many thanks to all! [​IMG]
     
  13. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    was the game a boy and his blob? the bastard got me too b4 [​IMG]
     
  14. _emperor
    OP

    Newcomer _emperor Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Greece
    yes that was the cause my friend, i wish i never got it installed, but now i will make things right hope so [​IMG]

    To sum it up, i have a virgin 4.2E that i will later soft mod. In order to avoid bricking in the future i should

    a) Take NAND backup
    b) Make the system trucha bug
    c) Install Priiloader_v0_3b
    d) .......

    I have also seen the RescueMii-core v17 that has several WADs that supposed to help you overpass bricking.. As far i understand their main purpose is to trick system in order to boot from CD/DVD media and after accessing maintenance mode restore system... Do I need to take that step also, or this will mess up things?
     
  15. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i knew it a boy and his brick strikes again! [​IMG]
     
  16. wilsoff

    Member wilsoff GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    292
    Country:
    United States
    Apologies for the necro bump, but this has been on my to do list for a while, since I sw this post originally. Seemed like the best place for this, rather than creating a new thread.

    I've modified the A Boy and His Blob icon so it doesn't brick. I don't have the right info/software to insert the forwarding .dol, but if you take this as the base and create a USB Loader forwarder channel from it then it should work.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?q8ngdk29jdfgopw

    Make sure you are brick protected before you mess with this. If you're not sure, don't play.

    Notes: I took out StarField.tpl from the icon and removed the 97 references to it in the icon.brlyt
     

Share This Page