bad blocks & nandclean

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by lithium210, Aug 6, 2009.

Aug 6, 2009

bad blocks & nandclean by lithium210 at 6:05 PM (2,680 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. lithium210
    OP

    Member lithium210 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Country:
    United States
    I always use my wii as a test subject before adding anything to my friends wii's but the only concern that i have is why my wii has 3 bad blocks when trying to dump with bootmii. Ive softmodded a friends wii awhile back on 3.2, it had cioscorp, preloader, starfall hacks, etc. anyways i ran anyregion changer to reinstall 3.2 on his so i can get bootmii on there and did a nanddump of his & it came out clean, no bad blocks. on mine, i have 4.1 installed, followed a guide to get rid of preloader & dvdx on mine (including reinstalling the system menu BEFORE running nandclean). When i tried dumping my nand, i had 3 bad blocks which did say it corrected. Just curious to why i would have 3 of them. my wii's running fine, no problems at all.
     


  2. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    nand memory is difficult to manufacture. there's always the chance of some bad blocks, that's normal
    they have been marked as bad and will not be used to store data, so there's no risk of things going wrong
     
  3. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Wii's generally come with bad blocks, I've always had one and I have 2, its working fine.

    At that number it shouldn't be anything to worry about from what I remember, it generally comes with a few factory bad blocks.

    http://bootmii.org/faq/

    Check that out, up to 80 blocks can be bad and your Wii will still be shipped and work pretty much fine.
     
  4. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well as i understand bad blocks aren't that much of a big deal and are quite normal if you only have 3-4, i have 5 and have suffered no bad effects

    EDIT: guess you can up to 80 [​IMG]
     
  5. lithium210
    OP

    Member lithium210 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Country:
    United States
    wow 80!? thanks for the replies.. yeah im not worried about my wii just curious to why there would be any bad blocks. Also i guess a bit jealous my friends wii has NONE! lol
     
  6. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
  7. lithium210
    OP

    Member lithium210 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Country:
    United States
    anyone know how to give bad blocks on purpose?? haha im KIDDING!!
     
  8. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    anyone know how to use Readme and search function??????
    guess not
     
  9. lithium210
    OP

    Member lithium210 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Country:
    United States

    yup.. guess not
     
  10. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    NAND Clean is only to remove preloader, it didn't clean up more than this piece of code.

    Bad Blocks are (mostly?) marked by factory as bad and it's no problem to have three bad blocks.
    The Wii didn't use this blocks and this is normal and no problem.
     
  11. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    meh, i have 15 bad blocks and its absolutely nothing to worry about.

    if they threw away every nand chip with a bad block, they would cost a fortune to make, hence why they make them with a bit of extra storage, that way if there are bad blocks, they mark them as such, and nothing is ever stored on them, and use the "backup" storage instead.

    as already mentioned, as long as its less than 80, its fine.
     
  12. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,293
    Country:
    Chile
    Yep, the bootmii page explain this perfect, of the total 4096 blocks only 4016 are valid (usable), so it give a total of 80 blocks that will never be used, kinda like a security mesure, since factory bad blocks are too common.
     
  13. Swizler

    Member Swizler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    r we sure those 80 blocks are being used for nothing?
     
  14. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, 80 blocks aren't in use.

    EDIT: Well, thats the minimum of useable blocks (4016) and so it makes sense they would get rid of 80 so they make sure its fine.
     
  15. Swizler

    Member Swizler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    which 80 blocks
     
  16. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,293
    Country:
    Chile
    There´s a PDF document on Bootmii page concerning Wii nand blocks.

    Even if a bad block contains usefull data, the blocks are remaped in order not lose that data.
     
  17. Swizler

    Member Swizler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    how are they remaped?
     
  18. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,293
    Country:
    Chile
    Data is transfer from bad blocks to good blocks, it´s a light way to explain, I don´t know the whole process in detail, check the Bootmii page or check flash memory on wiki.
     
  19. lithium210
    OP

    Member lithium210 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Country:
    United States
    so its completely random which wii's have bad blocks? Figured bad blocks had to do with preloader and dvdx being on there or installing so may different wads over and over.
     
  20. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    I have no idea, likely differs Wii to Wii.

    It just says by the manufacturer the minimum number of good blocks they can have before they ship out is 4016, or 80 less than 4096.
     

Share This Page