1. Yoshimashin

    OP Yoshimashin Penguin Spy
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    401
    Country:
    United States
    Im buying a new Wii, and I dont feel like chipping this one. Can you play backups without a chip yet?
     
  2. deadrabbit

    deadrabbit Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    No not yet.

    What happend to your last one?
     
  3. Beware

    Beware GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,106
    Country:
    United States
  4. Yoshimashin

    OP Yoshimashin Penguin Spy
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    401
    Country:
    United States
    It got in my way... [​IMG]

    Is it coming? Should I wait a bit longer?
     
  5. trent_fox

    trent_fox GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    Never say never, but it's very unlikely. It's the DVD drive's firmware that prevents DVD+-Rs from being read, not the Wii itself.
     
  6. skawo96

    skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    That's right. But I think that is possible. I mean, write a tool that:
    1. Starts spinning disc
    2. Starts the read sequency
    3. Then it SAYS ( [​IMG] ) to drive READ ANY DISC
    4. When disc is ready, it reboots to Wii Menu/since disc is loaded/, or just starts a disc.

    But there are any cables that will let the wii (or rather let the program) to actually send some data to drive. But...HEY there must be something like that! I mean when you start for example VC game disc stops spinning. Wii must send some thata to DVD drive and problably to our little PANASONIC chip, right?

    Or we need to have more information about wii and drive itself, and then write custom firmware. [​IMG]
     
  7. night_chrono

    night_chrono GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't it be possible to flash the dvd drives firmware then? There obviously is communication between the drive and the rest of the wii, and since we can already run custom code on the wii, why can't we stream code to the dvd drive? I imagine the firmware on the dvd drive would be extremely simple.

    Also; Is anyone working on a way to dump the firmware from the drive?
     
  8. teq

    teq GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    You guys should do some homework before making posts.

    First of all, the dvd drive's firmware is probably read only. Replacing the firmware might be possible if you're willing to do some soldering, but for the same expense you could have a mod chip(which has less detectability).

    Second, Gecko Region Free has shown it's possible to patch the encoding from memory, but an ISO loader is very far from this.

    It would have to emulate or supercede IOS(which is possible if you can cause the system to reboot while retaining memory). Once you emulate IOS, initializing the drive isn't far off.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Backups, without,