Backup Loader stopped working after nintendo channel update.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by francerossina, Dec 24, 2009.

  1. francerossina
    OP

    Newcomer francerossina Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    Merry Christmas! Please help me to find me a solution to my problem


    I have a soft-modded wii. One month ago I followed the easy guide "Modify any Wii 4.2 & below, aka the simplistic mod" and it worked perfectly.

    I followed every single step in the guide, except for the downgrade to 4.1
    So my system menu is still 4.2

    Two hours ago i received a message from Nintendo, asking me to update the nintendo channel.
    I chose yes, but unluckly (my fault) I updated my wii (don't know how this is possible, since I already had 4.2 system menu) and not only the nintendo channel.

    After that I tried to use the Neogamma backup luncher (version 7), but all I got was a blank screen.
    I tried several disc without success (I can use retail discs, so it isn't a problem of the Wii laser).

    I downloaded Newgamma version 8, but Wad manager doesn't work either.


    At the moment I can still access to the Homebrew Channel, launch Snes emulator, play dvdmovie, but I cannot use backup launcher.
    I have a NAND backup, as it was suggested in the guide I used.


    Could you please tell me what should I do to use backup discs again?

    Thanks
     
  2. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    just redo the guide starting from the Modify 4.2 part.

    Never click yes to update anything. And it updated because you don't have certain IOS files (the stubbed ones). The updater sees this, and basically tells you you need an update.
     
  3. francerossina
    OP

    Newcomer francerossina Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    Merry Christmas Troy and thanks for your help.
    Do I have to restore the NAND backup?
    And then start from "Restoring the Trucha Bug" ?
     
  4. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    no, you don't have to restore your nand backup.

    start from the first step under the Modify 4.2 section. You'll have your wii back playing backups in a matter of minutes.

    oh, and merry christmas to you too.
     
  5. francerossina
    OP

    Newcomer francerossina Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks again [​IMG]
     
  6. francerossina
    OP

    Newcomer francerossina Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    It worked perfectly, thanks again!
     

Share This Page