Backing up?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Gumble, Feb 27, 2009.

Feb 27, 2009

Backing up? by Gumble at 6:01 PM (1,142 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Gumble
    OP

    Newcomer Gumble Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Canada
    How do you back up your games?
    From what I've read the people who get banned the least make their own copies. Using what? That's what I would like to know. Is there a method of using the drive in the 360 already to dump the files? (ftp or something) Or is it strickly that I have to buy a kreon flashed drive.

    Thanks!
     
  2. gisel213

    Member gisel213 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    Delaware
    Country:
    United States
    I would just download them because they are stealth patched and such so if you have ix15 you have less chance
    of getting banned otherwise buy the kreon samsung drive take about 10 to 15 mins but more risky..... I mod these
    things all the time even the new liteon the so called un flashable drive which now is hahahaha... have fun cheers!!!!
     
  3. Gumble
    OP

    Newcomer Gumble Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Canada
    I just really got wondering about making my own dumps. In another thread people were discussing not playing region free games for fear of a ban. Yet Street Fighter has only been released in that format.. oh well, thats fine.
    Thanks for the tip though!! [​IMG]
     
  4. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    People cannot get banned for playing regionfree games. You can only get banned for flashing your drive (and other bad stuff, of course). You CAN use the kreon drive, but there is also another method that involves modding an external dvd drive so that you can hotswap without opening the tray.
     
  5. squirt1000

    Banned squirt1000 Would rather have a cup of Tea!

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    842
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Kreon drive is the simple way of doing it, Pre-flashed drives can be bought relatively cheaply on certain auction sites [​IMG]
     
  6. RhiGhost

    Member RhiGhost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Is this true? I'm planning on buying a kreon drive to backup all my games, but if its safer to just download them..?
    Isn't there a way you can stealth the games you backup yourself?
     
  7. velocity37

    Member velocity37 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    No. Properly stealthed rips are made with Kreon drives or Samsung 360 drives, as they are capable of reading all the secure areas of the disc. Using the hot-swap method with a normal DVD drive will give you bad images you have to repair, however.

    You might want to run your resulting files through a checker just in case, it'll make sure there are no CRC errors in your game partition and whatnot [​IMG]
     
  8. RhiGhost

    Member RhiGhost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok cool. My kroen drive is on its way anyway [​IMG]
    When you say run the files through a checker, do you mean a program? If so which is the best?
     
  9. Gumble
    OP

    Newcomer Gumble Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Canada
    abgx360 is the program I have, works really well.
     
  10. RhiGhost

    Member RhiGhost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Is this program still running? I'm finding it hard to find an english version...
     
  11. Gumble
    OP

    Newcomer Gumble Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Canada
    ya its running well, you just have to update the .ini file and then you're set for now.
    look for it in familiar places.
     

Share This Page