Backing up Brawl (NTSC)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by AvEnGeR-X, Jun 13, 2008.

Jun 13, 2008

Backing up Brawl (NTSC) by AvEnGeR-X at 11:06 AM (2,281 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. AvEnGeR-X
    OP

    Newcomer AvEnGeR-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes, I've read the topic (sticky): http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=74393

    However, it does not explain how to get brawl in the first place. Personally, I already own brawl, but I would like to know how to back up duel-layered Wii games in preparation for the future (more wii games duel-layered will be released).

    Do NOT go and say riddles like this: I'll give you a clue, you can get it from a program that starts with 'B' and rhymes with LitTorrent.
    1. I live in Australia, we have crappiest internet in the world (no cheap, unlimited broadband 0_0).

    I have one of the drives that supports backing up of Wii games (using Raw Dumper). It can actually read Brawl, (on the PC it shows the size of the disc and stuff) but when it comes to copying it with Raw Dumper (2.1 to be exact, has a BETA feature to support duel-layered Wii games, but it doesn't work).

    Does anyone have a program that can backup brawl from a drive that can read it?
     
  2. wabo

    Member wabo GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  3. OrcMonkey©

    Banned OrcMonkey© Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    593
    Country:
    frii dump should work
     
  4. AvEnGeR-X
    OP

    Newcomer AvEnGeR-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks guys, I'm trying FriiDump as I type lol.

    Retrieving seeds.....(been doing this for 5 min, i hope it goes to the next step....)

    --------------------------------1 hour ago----------------------------------------

    EDIT: Nup, not working. It says Retrieving seeds.....failed. [​IMG] I think it may be a no go.
    I tried it with another Wii game, it seems to be doing the same thing. Btw, my drive is the exact same drive on the guide you sent me.
    http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/3374/autodumpun1.jpg
    So i can;t imagine why it doesn't work with me

    -------------------------------------Now-------------------------------------------

    It's working! I restarted the drive. now it works. I think it had a tantrum from being on all night :S. But its working! I'll let you know how the dump goes.
     
  5. AvEnGeR-X
    OP

    Newcomer AvEnGeR-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It came up with an error report [​IMG]. Got to 4.1GB.

    I think I'll wait until it comes out in Australia, maybe the PAL version can be backed up.

    Meh, not that I need it.

    EDIT: After half an hour of google searching, found that Friidump 0.4 is meant to support Brawl. Downloaded it and testing now, if you want a link, post here.
     
  6. OrcMonkey©

    Banned OrcMonkey© Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    593
    Country:
    It should work
    If it doesnt
    thats wierd
     
  7. AvEnGeR-X
    OP

    Newcomer AvEnGeR-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It has successfully dumped. [​IMG]. Just to let you guys know [​IMG]

    Now burning.....hmmm.....*attempts to trim and burn to DVD5 to start off*
     
  8. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    anyway to dump dl discs in gc mode (using an sd gecko), coz i cant be screwed buying one of those drives just to back up one game
     
  9. AvEnGeR-X
    OP

    Newcomer AvEnGeR-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Why revive an old topic from the dead :S.
    Meh, ok, thanks for the info.....But i use this drive to 'backup' many games. So its much easier then SD Gecko.
     
  10. Defiance

    Member Defiance oh my god.. it's full of trading cards...

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,504
    Location:
    Terminus
    Country:
    United States
    Can Friidump also dump movies and stuff like that?
     
  11. sabatino

    Member sabatino GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Belgium
    sure, and when you clap 3 times it makes breakfast for you [​IMG]
     
  12. pitoui

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    I'd also like to know if there is a way of dumping SSBB using an SD Gecko. Anyone...?
     
  13. AvEnGeR-X
    OP

    Newcomer AvEnGeR-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Wrong forums mate. Try the SD gecko forums.

    (btw, brawl is like 8 GB, it will take a little while to do without a big SD card.).
     
  14. pitoui

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah no worries, thanks tho.
     

Share This Page