backed up games show on disc channel

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by xvetrd, May 26, 2009.

May 26, 2009
  1. xvetrd
    OP

    Newcomer xvetrd Newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    So I updated my soft modded wii to 4.0U with Punch Out, and after it was done i noticed that the disc channel was showing punch out was in.

    This never happened before so i tried out all the backed up games i had

    Games that worked:

    Punch Out
    Animal Crossing
    Mushroom Men
    Geometry Wars
    Wii Music
    Guitar Hero Metallica
    Wario Land
    Resident Evil 4
    Mad World

    AND it identified Eternal Darkness as a gamecube game.

    The games that didnt work were:
    GH World Tour
    Super Paper Mario [PAL]
    Boom Blox [PAL]

    I dont have Preloader or any mod chip.

    I just want to find out if there was a reason my wii suddenly decided to recognize games without any extra effort on my part.
     
  2. xvetrd
    OP

    Newcomer xvetrd Newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    If this happened before 4.0U and i never noticed just tell me.
     
  3. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    good job double posting as your first 2 posts... not. there is an edit button.

    besides that, what did you softmod your wii with? cIOSCORP or what?
    and how did you update your wii?
    you need to give additional information if you want to know lol

    because i have no idea why your wii has managed to do that at all...
     
  4. dustloop

    Newcomer dustloop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It only ever happened to me once.

    It was with WiiGators first backup loader release. I played Trauma Center New Blood, after playing a little while, turned off the wii with the wiimote and when I turned it back on the next day, I noticed Trauma Center was on the disc channel, booted and played just fine. This was the only game it happend to me so no idea *shrugs*
     
  5. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    You hit "reboot with hooks" in the backup loader menu?
     
  6. xvetrd
    OP

    Newcomer xvetrd Newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    cIOS rev 10, It updated though Punch Out. I played it first though back up loader gamma, and then after i had turned off my wii and gone back to it, the disc channel showed it needed an update. After that is when games started showing up.

    I dont have cIOSCORP. I have installed IOS60-Trucha, IOS38, 53, 35 from http://www.yafaze.com/wii. I used the 4.0 tutorial to reinstall IOS's so i could play wads from the SD card.

    Everything homebrew wise still works.
     
  7. ClockWorK

    Member ClockWorK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    I've seen my backups show up in the disc channel too. I think it started before I updated to 4.0, but can't recall exactly.. I figured it happened to everyone, and I was the only person who hadn't noticed it sooner.

    I tried loading one or two backups through the disc channel, but they errored. I did not pursue this any further, as I use the loaders for everything.

    cIOS rev10
    I did a normal system update (through Wii settings) to get to 4.0, and then ran a downgrader for trucha. In the past, I had run the Tona Shop Channel updater, and I had installed DVDx back from when the original backup loader required it.

    Not running anything special. No preloader, bootmii, cioscorp, or anything. No mod chip.

    No rebooting with hooks.

    I'm going to see if I can get a game to load through the channel when I get home..
     

Share This Page