AVI with moonshell?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Trace II, Feb 9, 2007.

Feb 9, 2007

AVI with moonshell? by Trace II at 12:04 AM (1,473 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Trace II
    OP

    Newcomer Trace II Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    This isn't working!!!!! [​IMG] I can't get AVIs to work on my r4. I tried BatchDPG, but it freezes on my wingdows 98. I tried to get DPGTool, but it always comes with moonshell and I can't even find it. can someone post a link to something that will work?
     
  2. Dis

    Dis Newbie

    AVI won't work on MOONSHELL or BATCH DPG...
    YOU need to convert it to .DPG with moonshell or batch DPG to view it on MOONSHELL!!!

    http://ls5.cydonianknight.com/
    Link above is BATCH DPG site...
     
  3. Trace II
    OP

    Newcomer Trace II Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    But how do I convert it!!?!??!??! can you somehow conver AVIs to a format for moonshell? Is there a different AVI veiwer?
     
  4. Anakir

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    No applications can view AVI format for the NDS. The only way to view it is to convert it to DPG format.

    Converting's not hard. Open up the application, drag and drop the video you want and set the options of how you want the video to come out as.
     
  5. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think the DS has enough processing power to handle .AVI files.
     
  6. Danieluz

    Member Danieluz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    Portugal
    Im probably gonna say crap but... come on! Not enough processing power? Even my n-gage and all nokia symbian phones can process .avi files =|
     
  7. skullstatue

    Banned skullstatue Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United States
    The DS "can" handle AVI, it "can" emulate SNES, PS1, and plenty of other systems. In fact, there is probably nothing a DS "cant" do. The problem is the right coders haven't come along yet. Anything is possible with the right kind of coding.
     
  8. 001100

    Newcomer 001100 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    Here is a video guide.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fSFW4tkeAY

    Hope this helps.
     
  9. Trace II
    OP

    Newcomer Trace II Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    Screw this, I'm getting an M3.
     
  10. XeroRestraint

    Member XeroRestraint GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Yeah, they're a lot different from the R4.

    Seriously, are you just trolling?
     
  11. spectral

    spectral Newbie

    I really hope you are joking, the M3 Simply is exactly the same as the R4 so has the exact same limitations, all DS carts do, there is no way to do what you are trying to do atm no matter what you buy. All the cards use moonshell to play videos and moonshell cant play avi. You are going to have to convert or not watch video, simple as that.
     
  12. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't think he's joking... lol
     
  13. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,711
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    First things first AVI is just a container, it is the codecs you insert that cause hassle and given moonshell only decodes the mpeg1 with MP1 audio layer 2 standards for video then the only real alternative is to make a MPG splitter (DPG is just some streams put together with a header saying where eveything is).

    I am not suprised, try a real decent OS (win2k is a good start) and make sure .net works (I do not know if it does with 98) and you have avisynth properly set up. You could try manual encoding but I sense that may not be to your tastes, post and I will explain.

    Moonshell comes with a convertor called DPGtools that may work.

    There is also a fairly involved app called EZBuilder, it seems to be released on various Chinese forums and I do not have a current link so you will have search for it.
     

Share This Page