1. privin

    OP privin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Norway
    Hi guys,

    I didn't use my Switch for a couple of weeks, leaving it without power. Now I am not able to charge it at all. In Tegra it displays "NO RCM" no matter what I do.

    Tried the following:

    • Charging it overnight in the dock - When I connect the switch to the dock, the dock's green light starts blinking constantly.

    • Charging it overnight without the dock

    • Leaving it connected to the computer for many hours. Using USBDeview shows that nothing is being charged
    1. Try to send it in under the warranty - Would they detect AutoRCM despite the unit being out of power, and would that be a problem for Nintendo? If so, what is the consequence if they discover it?

    2. Try to unplug and replug the battery, or try to charge the battery disconnected from the switch. But I guess this would certainly would the warranty if I'd send it in later?
    Thanks!
     
  2. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,673
    Country:
    Norway
    2. is the way to go. Just don't leave any signs that it's been opened :)
    If you send it in they will most likely detect AutoRCM and probably refuse to repair it altogether.
     
  3. RiPPERD

    RiPPERD GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i had the same issue mate, nothing worked etc. it does charge even if you dont see it. the problem is corrupt sd card.

    backup your files from it, format it, copy your files to the sd again, DOWNLOAD NEWEST FILES (whatever method you use), copy to sd card and overwrite any files, also do the patches files with newest files (posted on here somewhere). now make sure you hold the power off button for 30 seconds after you put sd card in (make sure its fully off) now hookup tegra and use the newer bin file to boot the switch.

    worked for me and been fine since.

    NOTE: i have AutoRCM enabled, if you dont then get to rcm the normal ways
     
  4. LyuboA

    LyuboA Unknown Entity
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    484
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Never send OG v1 Switch to Nintendo what every the case is they ALWAYS Replace the main board with v1 Patched so no hacking unless you get SX mod chip

    you can fix that issue very easy

    Connenct your Switch to PC hold power button for 15-20sec. to make sure its off wait 30m. or more press power button and TegraRCM should detect the Switch push the right payload for your setup and immediately after you see the Switch is booting disconnect from PC and plug it in Nintendo charger wait for it to get full charge
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  5. privin

    OP privin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Norway
    Hi guys,

    Opened up the Switch, and replugging the battery did not help. Used a multimeter, and no wonder it wasn't working! The voltage was at 2.4V, so big chance that the battery needs to be replaced. Currently trying to charge the battery directly up to an acceptable level.
     
    RiPPERD likes this.
  6. privin

    OP privin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Norway
    Hello again,

    Charging the battery helped, as I could enter Hekate and disable AutoRCM. Unfortunately, when I boot it with OFW it displays the error code 2162-0002, and i cannot enter the OS.

    So it seems like I have to send it in under the warranty.
     
  7. RiPPERD

    RiPPERD GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    did you try what i suggested?
    dont boot to ofw boot to atmosphere
     
  8. mrdude

    mrdude GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,102
    Country:
    Try removing any game cartridges and the sd card to see if it boots. It should do. If not you could just restore your nand dump backup, then boot into Atmosphere - then update your firmware from dumped firmware files. The fact that you can boot to hekate is a good sign and the switch is certainly recoverable.OFW shouldn't be corrupted though - just by the battery running down. Maybe the files on the sd card are corrupted, that's why I say try booting without it.
     
    Last edited by mrdude, Jan 29, 2021
  9. privin

    OP privin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Norway
    Thank you for your replies, guys!

    RiPPERD:
    Tried to boot to Atmosphere, but it gives me "NOFAT - FatFS Error 13". Tried my original SD card, and a fresh card using both ExFat and Fat32. The card is discovered and I can get card information (capacity, bus width), but it seemingly cannot be mounted. 128GB card.


    mrdude:
    Unfortunately it doesn't work with or without GC and SD, and it doesn't seem to charge. I guess I can try to restore with the nand backup, but the laptop is currently in another city.
     
  10. RiPPERD

    RiPPERD GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you need to format the card as exfat (if you used exfat update via NXupdater) if you only installed fat32 update then you must format as fat32.

    The fact you got the error 13 is actually your original problem solved... but the new error is due to what i just said.

    use that same card but also get latest firmware update from that website that holds them all, then use the NX updater to update system fully too then you will get either exfat or fat32.... ive used exfat since day 1 with no issues but others have issues... i use expensive sd cards so this may be why.
     
  11. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,622
    Country:
    United States
    This is so wrong on so many different levels.

    First of all, you do NOT need to format the SD card to exFAT even if you chose the exFAT version of the firmware when updating. The Switch supports FAT32 out of the box and this support will never go away. Secondly, exFAT has been confirmed to be the root cause of all corruption so just because you personally haven't had any issues doesn't invalidate the hundreds of users who experienced corruption or the developers that have researched this issue. Thirdly, there is no reason to use exFAT anymore anyway because there are a plethora of ways to bypass the <4 GB limit on FAT32.
     
  12. RiPPERD

    RiPPERD GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok well im a bit behind in the modding scene on here but this is how i fixed my problem which seems the same as OP

    i was on the understanding when you use the NX updater thing it makes you choose either fat32 OR exfat so this would need to be correct as per the sd card...
    my sd is exfat still from when i started... and i assumed coz of the 4gb limit everyone else would be lol. if you use fat32 then obviously use fat32 again and choose fat32 this is common sense really.

    thanks for the info ill get them changed over at some point... maybe it does depend on the sd card quality too then? i use both 128gb gold and red sandisk sd cards, not brought from ebay or aliexpress lol
     
  13. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,622
    Country:
    United States
    That is fine, I apologize for expecting you to be more aware of the Switch scene. I know your name from the PS4 scene so that is why I had some expectations from you.

    Anyways, when firmware installers prompt you for exFAT or without exFAT, that refers to whether or not you want exFAT support on your firmware and not how your SD card is formatted. The Switch supports FAT32 out of the box and will always support it unless the console is dead. exFAT support is not offered out of the box and has to either be downloaded from Nintendo's servers or installed via homebrew.

    As for the corruption, this topic has been discussed to death and the conclusion has remained the same: exFAT is the source of all corruption. It doesn't matter what card, brand, quality, size, or any other metric you want to use because all corruption stems from exFAT usage. Certain utilities do not even support exFAT at all such as Lakka and what with the myriad of ways of bypassing the <4 GB limit on FAT32, there is no reason to use exFAT nowadays.
     
  14. RiPPERD

    RiPPERD GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    haha its ok i usually would be more up to date but due to this lock down shit and family issues ive been out of ALL scenes most last year... ill get back into it again soon but no free time at the mo.

    thanks for the info about the firmware thing though maybe i should have read things clearer lol

    well to the OP follow my instructions however format to fat32 :yay:
     
  15. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,622
    Country:
    United States
    It is fine, this is a learning experience for everyone. After all, no one person in the scene knows everything.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - disconnect, Seemingly, warranty