1. DiscostewSM

    DiscostewSM GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,446
    Country:
    United States
    I love this day.
     
  2. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    10,216
    Country:
    Portugal
    Atmosphere 0.14.2 is out!
     
  3. laz305

    laz305 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    United States
    So I’m currently on 9.0 sys and emu. What do I need to update first Atmos sys or emu?
     
  4. TonyMax

    TonyMax Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    You don't have to update sys at all. I haven't for a bit. I'm on lastest atmosphere and older sys fw.
     
    laz305 likes this.
  5. laz305

    laz305 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    United States
    ok thanks but I'd like to update all cuz why not right. What I need to know is what do I update first? and doesn't updating kill all installed games?
     
  6. PHiLiPZ

    PHiLiPZ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Slovakia
    New Atmosphere works with old Horizon OS. New Horizon doesn’t work with old Atmosphere. Definitely Atmosphere first. And it won’t kill your games.
     
    NoxiousNinja and laz305 like this.
  7. laz305

    laz305 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks just tried and I get hit with an error screen saying wrong ini cfg failed to load hos. If anyone can help I uploaded my sdcard you can look at it and tell me what I need to delete so I can update Atmos please!!!!
     
  8. TonyMax

    TonyMax Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Did you delete the sept and atmosphere folders and then copy over the new ones? I've had issues if I directly copy over the folders.
     
  9. VashTS

    VashTS Beat it, son
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,163
    Country:
    United States
    take note - back up your system before updating. its NOT related to updating atmosphere, but i recently jumped to sysnand 10.1 and on one of my kid's system it botched the update and i had to revert to an old 6.2.0 system.

    PSA thats been stated a million times - BACKUP BEFORE YOU UPDATE! you might lose all your data if you do not.

    0.14.2 working fine with updated sigpatches on his system nonetheless.
     
    NoxiousNinja and laz305 like this.
  10. laz305

    laz305 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I deleted the atmosphere folder and sept. Should I be deleting the bootloader folder as well?
     
  11. PHiLiPZ

    PHiLiPZ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Slovakia
    Every folder that’s included in the atmosphere release archive should be backed up, deleted and then extracted from new archive. Never overwritten, maybe with the exception of some configuration files and only if tou know what you’re doing.
     
  12. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    10,216
    Country:
    Portugal
  13. fatsquirrel

    fatsquirrel GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,588
    Country:
    @SciresM

    I've been wondering if it would be possible to add an option to atmosphere when it crashes (for example with Retroarch it crashes regulary for me in 30min-1h intervals), the console would reboot to payload without user interference pressing the console power button and such?

    I have my Switch on a different floor and going up to press the button just to reset to RCM is quite inconvenient. Would that kind of thing be possible? Like a countdown timer until it reboots to payload again or something like that?
     
  14. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,995
    Country:
    United States
    There's been an option to autoreboot from fatal for awhile now, it's in system_settings.ini somewhere.
     
  15. Y0sh1

    Y0sh1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Ireland
    True

    @fatsquirrel check this out
     
  16. fatsquirrel

    fatsquirrel GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,588
    Country:
    Mother of god! THANK YOU!!!

    Im not well versed in programming but..I should open the systemsettings and edit the string to "fatal_auto_reboot_interval = u64!0x0" right?

    But how do I make it reboot to rcm and not normal reboot?
     
  17. Digi_Ohhh

    Digi_Ohhh GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    Italy
    Yes, that's the field you need to edit. Replace `u64!0x0` with `u64!0x2000` and the system will wait two seconds (or `2000` milliseconds) before rebooting.
    it can't reboot 'instantly' though, i.e. the number after `u64!0x` must be greater than zero (you could probably argue that one millisecond can be considered 'instantly')
    it can reboot normally, reboot to rcm or reboot to the `reboot_payload.bin`, which is located in `/atmosphere`
    it all depends on the `power_menu_reboot_function` field, which by default is set to `str!payload`: this means Atmosphere will basically reboot to rcm and then inject `reboot_payload.bin`, which is the same as `fusee_primary.bin` (it will reboot to Atmosphere). You can use a different payload, Hekate for instance, by renaming it to `reboot_payload.bin` and then replacing the one in `/atmosphere`
     
  18. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,995
    Country:
    United States
    ^ that, but copy the system settings file from config_templates to config first and use that copy
     
    Digi_Ohhh likes this.
  19. SciresM

    SciresM Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    872
    Country:
    United States
    Happy June 15th!
     
  20. thaikhoa

    thaikhoa GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161
    Country:
    Australia
    exFat users dont update to fw10.2.0 as atmosphere 0.14.3 supports Fat32 only.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - development, Atmosphere, Firmware