1. Y0sh1

    Y0sh1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Ireland
    are people with AutoRCM getting the shutdown to work on 0.8.4?

    Release notes say
    But when I plugged my switch it was detected as in RCM and not powered off[/QUOTE]
     
    Last edited by Y0sh1, Feb 27, 2019
  2. Krude

    Krude GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    When you plug in your switch, it detects a charge being sent and tries to boot up to use USB 3.0 protocols. Plugging in your switch will always send it to AutoRCM
     
  3. Y0sh1

    Y0sh1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Ireland
    I usually fully shut down my Switch from Hekate (and it is the only reason I ever inject Hekate) because I know this used to not work on the old Atmos.

    When I shutdown from Hekate, then plug the Switch to my phone, no device is detected. So I still believe that Atmos is not properly shutting it down
     
  4. SciresM

    SciresM Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    United States
    When I shutdown from Atmosphere with my device already connected over USB, it stops enumerating, and does not respond to RCM messages. If I hit the power button after that, it begins enumerating and responding to RCM messages.

    I am fairly confident it does go into a true powerdown, and I'm also pretty sure the issue is plugging it into your phone is turning it on.
     
    SOnicn, lordelan, xfighter11 and 2 others like this.
  5. minooch_e

    minooch_e Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Been testing it out, it definitely appears to shutdown correctly now. Plugging in has always waken the device up. You've done amazing, but you always do mate :grog:
     
    tiliarou likes this.
  6. Rocca

    Rocca Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Noob question? If I update from 0.8.3 to 0.8.4 staying in 6.2. Do I need new sig patches?
    Regards
     
  7. RattletraPM

    RattletraPM GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    897
    Country:
    Italy
    No, new sigpatches are only needed if you upgrade to 7.0.X. If you stay behind on 6.2.0 the older ones will still work.
     
    Rocca likes this.
  8. TPMJB

    TPMJB GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    United States
    In standby mode, it uses very little power. I guess the best way to test if it does a "true shutdown" would be to disconnect it from all power sources, shutdown the switch, leave it for a day, then turn it back on and check the battery.

    I leave my switch unattended for weeks at a time, otherwise I'd try this. Just in sleep mode on the charger indefinitely (that I have plugged into a UPS lol)
     
  9. Taorn

    Taorn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2017
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    United States
    The shutdown works fine. Tested it by shutting down through the regular shutdown option and leaving the Switch alone for two days. Booted it afterwards in Hekate to view the remaining battery percentage. Was still at the previous power level.

    You should still keep in mind, that you can easily turn the Switch on, if you’re not careful.
     
    TPMJB likes this.
  10. TPMJB

    TPMJB GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah but this is good news if I have to travel.
     
  11. tastymeatball

    tastymeatball GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Germany
    This whole shutdown issue and not knowing if your console is on or off just tells everyone how desperetly every electronic device needs a simple power led that indicates if this thing is on or off. It really eludes me why Nintendo thought that the Switch doesn't need one.
     
    Last edited by tastymeatball, Mar 1, 2019
    charlieb and TPMJB like this.
  12. Y0sh1

    Y0sh1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Ireland
    I've tested it again and you are correct. The phone was powering it on

    I can now ditch hekate
     
  13. TPMJB

    TPMJB GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I'm even more old school than that. A power SWITCH would be great. A physical switch you can put in the "on" or "off" position. It used to be great shutting off a computer because the power switch did what it was supposed to. Now I have to hold the button like I've got the pillow over its face and I'm waiting for the last of its air to go out.
     
    Ape8000 and hippy dave like this.
  14. Dave_Chad

    Dave_Chad GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    Hi not sure if this is the place for nooby questions but i am all set up and working and loving it having switched from ReinX.

    I'm wondering how i set up to reboot to Hekate payload instead of rebooting the atmosphere payload. The readme on Github is short is there a full one somewhere? Would be nice via official reboot button or via the reboot payload. I've probably missed something obvious. Thanks in advance.

    EDIT: Search button is a wonderful thing and only one page back...ouch. "replace atmosphere/reboot_payload.bin and sept/payload.bin with hekate".

    EDIT2: Turns out replacing the sept/payload.bin is a bad idea and it doesn't boot. Seems just the reboot_payload is enough though as now the official reboot option goes to hekate menu as I wanted.
     
    Last edited by Dave_Chad, Mar 1, 2019
  15. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Hi Guys just saw a tweet from one of the Atmos team any idea what this means ?

    upload_2019-3-1_19-51-43.png
     
  16. V-Temp

    V-Temp GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,227
    Country:
    United States
    It means TSEC is defeated, which we already know because atmos has it beaten with Sept. They're now memeing on nVidia.
     
    Deleted User and peteruk like this.
  17. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Many Thanks V
     
  18. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,319
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's actually fresh progress today - they'd already partially broken tsec, enough for sept, but as of today it's fully broken - not going to be useful to Nintendo again for any new tricks. SciresM has been discussing it on discord, but not revealing any gory details.
     
  19. Naked_Snake

    Naked_Snake Constant Miscreant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,760
    Country:
    Australia
    What is sept I see it when it boots in amosohere
     
  20. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,319
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/releases
     
    Naked_Snake likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - development, Atmosphere, Firmware