At which point does Portrait of Ruin crash on flash carts?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by bumjeans, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. bumjeans
    OP

    Member bumjeans GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had bought Castlevania PoR because it was cheap and Im a CV fan. Its still shrink wrapped, I dont want to open it unless it is necessary.

    I am using an R4 with a 1GB SD card (toshiba brand I think).

    I dont want to get the rom, start playing it and then find out it doesnt work and then have to start again on a real cart.

    Will I know early on whether it is compatible with my gear?
     
  2. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    That stuff is kinda random.. on my 1GB Sandisk the game freezes on the first save point :/

    Look at the wiki, I believe we have a compatibility list for each game/SD card
     
  3. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can safely say that the game will not freeze on the R4 using a 1gig Toshiba mem card.
     
  4. T-hug

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,594
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When you first get to Wind and the Monk (shop) spam the map on and off, spam the conversation with Wind and the Monk, also the first teleport room when you get to it (anything that breaks normal play). If it doesn't lock you should be good.
    I ended up beating it on a Supercard Lite with 1GB Sandisk and still have my USA cart sealed.
     
  5. Ruri

    Member Ruri GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    United States
    Also, the room above the water-driven lifts (you'll know it when you see it) caused massive crashes for me. I didn't crash anywhere else, only there, so I assume it makes some major draw on card speed that goes beyond the things that cause crashes elsewhere.
     
  6. DespizingU

    Member DespizingU GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    705
    Country:
    United States
    I just picked up an A-Data 4GB Class 6, and PoR is running beautifully on it. I'm already to the third painting and not one single freeze. All the usual spots(painting, portals) has not made the game freeze. I have also went in and out of the start menu very rapidly about a dozen times in a row, and still wouldn't freeze.

    But anyways, as Tanas mentioned, the game shouldn't freeze with your Toshiba. It's not the flash cart that causes the freezes, it's the speed of the microsd. Just start pressing Start on and off really fast a few times. If the game doesn't freeze, then you should be ok.
     
  7. MyauChanDesu

    Member MyauChanDesu Kamineko is GOD.

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    560
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia!
    Country:
    Australia
    my one doesn't crash.. *on an R4*
     
  8. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I beat the game on a real cart, but when I played for an hour on my R4 with a 2gig Kingston Japan, it never crashed. One girl I know who has the same setup said it DID crash on her. So I don't know.

    There is a fix that removes a few sounds to possibly fix the crash, but I never tried it.
     
  9. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Running the same with 2gig kingston(japan) and it hasn't froze on me yet,tho I just started playing last night.....
     
  10. acky

    Member acky GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Australia
    You can format your card as fat16, small cluster size for faster read. Check the results of your format with a disk benchmark program.

    It decreased the frequency of crashes but it would still occur, most noticeably when accessing the menu immediately after jumping. Changing to a 1GB made in Japan (came with my phone) solved my problems.
     
  11. Curley5959

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    mine kinda gets a bit laggy!! I dont know if thats any help or not!! [​IMG] R4-2GB Sandisk-1.18 firmware
     
  12. sadak5

    Member sadak5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Country:
    Mexico
    On my Supercar DS One with a Sandisk 2GB it crashes mainly randomly. At least, after the beting for the first time both of the 'Candidates' it never crashed.
     
  13. starfox468

    Member starfox468 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Hiding In Your House
    Country:
    Canada
    it doesn't crash anymore in the newer flash carts, but before it crashed randomly when going through portals
     
  14. Raestloz

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    At random points. Usually at teleport rooms (when you use the device) and when you want to see the menu where there is an object to interact with (like people or statue).

    At some point it will crash too. And ironically, at the point when the screen is almost empty (only background and you). It drives me nuts!
     
  15. bumjeans
    OP

    Member bumjeans GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cool, thanks all. I feel a little better about it now.
     
  16. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I remember when I had a Transcend 2gig, the game would crash almost immediately.
     

Share This Page