Asobu Pikmin JPN (cant get it working)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cucukshow, Dec 29, 2008.

Dec 29, 2008
  1. cucukshow
    OP

    Newcomer cucukshow Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    No error, just black screen. backup disc will not boot.

    i have wiikey / 3.2

    Tried gecko / backup loader

    i have all relevant ois updates in place such that i can play need for speed and bleach


    Any else tried?
     


  2. Sayargh

    Newcomer Sayargh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to get it to work as well, using backup loader gamma, wasn't bothered if the text is in Japanese because i played the original version, don't really need to read the text [​IMG]

    Black screen, the game just crashes the moment it starts. the wiimote turns off.
     
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Did you try force NTSC and force japanese language?
     
  4. Sayargh

    Newcomer Sayargh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, green screen crash instead of black screen crash. I even tried changing the IOS. nothing worked, instant crash.
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    *edit: nevermind, i got you wrong
     
  6. cucukshow
    OP

    Newcomer cucukshow Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Uzbekistan

    blue crash red crash etc lol

    how to maked without crash any colours???
     
  7. Nautilart

    Newcomer Nautilart Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    works perfect under gamma force ntsc and change defualt language to japanese its a good game nice to have it on wii again
     
  8. fiddlefaddle22

    Member fiddlefaddle22 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can get this game to work in inferiour composite video but i prefer to use an RGB scart lead and when i select force 50 or 60 pal i get a green screen and ive tried wiifrii,vmc,gwp and wiipowers toy
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Did you try a clean 1:1 copy with my toy?
    - dump the main.dol
    - patch with the generic wii patcher NTSC -> PAL
    - save!
    - set the toy to system settings video mode
    - (force japanese language)
     
  10. fiddlefaddle22

    Member fiddlefaddle22 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The version i used was this one
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=124856&st=0

    it says its not a raw dump but i'm not sure if its a 1:1 copy though
     
  11. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If the steps i posted don't work, it's either the game not allowing this or there's something wrong with your copy. I think it could be some kind of new region protection by nintendo. I'm using a rbg cable too, so i hope this is not the case.
     
  12. fiddlefaddle22

    Member fiddlefaddle22 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [/quote]

    If the steps i posted don't work, it's either the game not allowing this or there's something wrong with your copy. I think it could be some kind of new region protection by nintendo. I'm using a rbg cable too, so i hope this is not the case.
    [/quote]
    I've got another 10 NTSC US and JAP games that won't force 50 or 60 pal that i could try with the toy but i think that the scrubbed ones wont work?,they are
    PUYO PUYO-Puyo_Puyo_JAP_WII-TMD-4.15GB
    COOKING MAMA 2-US SCRUBBED-815MB
    BIOHAZARD 0-Biohazard_0_JAP_WII-TMD-3.79GB
    BLASTWORKS-US SCRUBBED-1.64GB
    LUXOR 3-US SCRUBBED-413MB
    HATARAKU HIT-Hataraku_Hit_JAP_WII-TMD-SCRUBBED-989MB
    YATTERMAN WII HARD WORKING PEOPLE-JAP SCRUBBED-1.89GB
    LOZ TWILIGHT PRINCESS-US SCRUBBED-1.29GB
    GAME PARTY 2-US SCRUBBED-911MB
    SKY CRAWLERS-JAP-Sky_Crawlers_Innocent_Aces_JAP_WII-TMD-3.79GB
     
  13. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Scrubbing shoudn't be a problem as long as your cIOS has trucha support. Just test it. Oh and you can delete all other dumped files than the main.dol if you want to.
     
  14. fiddlefaddle22

    Member fiddlefaddle22 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the advice,i'll report back later how i get on.
     
  15. Sayargh

    Newcomer Sayargh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    I feel stupid now, after seeing another post which basically says the same thing as you I realized my mistake.

    I read this and thought that I had done this but really I only did them seperate, when I tried them in combination the game works perfectly.

    Another problem solved when there wasn't really a problem, but as a Human I be prone to mistakes XD

    -Retroactively Thanks for the help and ignore my first responce to this.

    Offtopic: This I still own on the gamecube with its sequal (which is esp. why I don't feel guilty for playing it), I might actually buy this game when it comes out in Europe because of my love for the Pikmin series, hopefully it'll be cheap like around £20 - theres no way i'm paying full price for a game I already paid full price for just to get nicer controls, though i'd pay around about halfish. [​IMG]
     
  16. fiddlefaddle22

    Member fiddlefaddle22 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry for taking so long wiipower but i've tested these games with softchip toy and most of them work in RGB 60 PAL now and thanks for all your time and effort that you have put into making this program.
    Wii_de_Asobu_Pikmin_JPN_Wii-Caravan--NOT WORKING
    PUYO PUYO-Puyo_Puyo_JAP_WII-TMD-4.15GB-WORKS NOW
    COOKING MAMA 2-US SCRUBBED-815MB-WORKS NOW
    BIOHAZARD 0-Biohazard_0_JAP_WII-TMD-3.79GB-CRASHES
    BLASTWORKS-US SCRUBBED-1.64GB-NOT WORKING
    LUXOR 3-US SCRUBBED-413MB-WORKS NOW
    HATARAKU HIT-Hataraku_Hit_JAP_WII-TMD-SCRUBBED-989MB-WORKS NOW
    YATTERMAN WII HARD WORKING PEOPLE-JAP SCRUBBED-1.89GB-BLACK SCREEN
    LOZ TWILIGHT PRINCESS-US SCRUBBED-1.29GB-NOT WORKING
    GAME PARTY 2-US SCRUBBED-911MB-NOT WORKING
    SKY CRAWLERS-JAP-Sky_Crawlers_Innocent_Aces_JAP_WII-TMD-3.79GB -WORKS NOW
    Mario Super Sluggers USA Wii-PROMiNENT-WORKS NOW
    Doraemon JAP-WORKS NOW
    Dragon Ball Z Budokai Tenkaichi 3 USA-WORKS NOW
     
  17. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Did you set your Wii in the official settings menu to PAL60(480i) and tried with my toy? Do the working games work with Gamma with force PAL with correct colors? Did you try force japanese and force english in the japanese games?

    About the non working games:
    Did you get these to work at all somehow with Gamma or SoftChip? But with annoying black&white playback?

    One important detail for me:
    Do you have japanese games which work in Gamma, colors don't matter to this, and don't in SoftChip what ever settings you selected? I'm asking, because the force language code in SoftChip might not be working correctly.
     
  18. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    pikmin only need to change the language, not the video
     
  19. richglix

    Newcomer richglix Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    As far as playability goes, is most of the ingame text in English or Japanese?
     
  20. fiddlefaddle22

    Member fiddlefaddle22 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All the games above i burned without patching and they gave me a green screen if i forced 50 or 60 pal in gamma, but if i launch one of the games without forcing video they all work ok with red video.The game kaze no klonea has strange text like this @@@ if i dont force the japanese language. I always have my wii set to 60hz in the official settings menu and use an rgb scart lead.I'll go through all my other Japanese games and try them out in softchip and let you know in a couple of days how i get on.
     

Share This Page