Homebrew Question Are there any Gamecube cores for retroarch 1.9.0 (switch)?

Nerdtendo

Your friendly neighborhood idiot
Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2016
Messages
1,693
Trophies
1
XP
3,640
Country
United States
Don't buy the crap that "gamecube is impossible on the switch". It probably won't happen because it would be a ton of effort, but it's definitely possible.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,185
Trophies
1
XP
15,252
Country
United States
Chances are Nintendo will “remaster” a bunch more games using the GC emu.

...but hopefully the method will be cracked and we can try our own :ninja:

I've been going through my entire switch collection without walkthroughs, and speaking of gamecube, I've been stuck on the "first"? yoshi shine in sunshine for over seven hours with the 3d all star collection. I keep coming back to it, being unable to find yoshi despite the level saying he's in there. lol
 
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk and KiiWii

GatoFiestero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
246
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
958
Country
Costa Rica
Chances are Nintendo will “remaster” a bunch more games using the GC emu.

...but hopefully the method will be cracked and we can try our own :ninja:
the gods of the emulation were trying develop something with the mario collection. The failed, but who knows... maybe...
 
  • Like
Reactions: KiiWii

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,185
Trophies
1
XP
15,252
Country
United States
the gods of the emulation were trying develop something with the mario collection. The failed, but who knows... maybe...

might need more than one game to hex compare them. that might've been the problem since it's three games, three different emulators.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

what I'd like is for Nintendo to offer symphonia at some point (if possible). it's possible that it's similar to the ps4 where there might need be a need for more than one emulator. the ps2 emulator on the ps4 uses rogue galaxy and jak and daxter from what I remember. both emulators are the most robust, so if a game doesn't work with one, you can try the other. you can also use config and lua to patch certain graphical or other issues, but they usually have to be minor to medium issues. major issues would probably require a new emulator. who knows if nintendo just made the emulator perfect for 3d all stars alone or if they have other intentions. anyway, imo, symphonia and tales of destiny 2 (the JP one) are the two best tales of games. vesperia and abyss are also quite good.
 
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk

KiiWii

Editorial Team
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
13,276
Trophies
2
Website
defaultdnb.github.io
XP
16,666
Country
United Kingdom
I've been going through my entire switch collection without walkthroughs, and speaking of gamecube, I've been stuck on the "first"? yoshi shine in sunshine for over seven hours with the 3d all star collection. I keep coming back to it, being unable to find yoshi despite the level saying he's in there. lol

lol :rofl2:

I got so far with it and really hated the revised feel of the controls. BUT, since the new update I plan to try playing the rest with a wired GC pad.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

GatoFiestero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
246
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
958
Country
Costa Rica
I have installed Android, Ubuntu and Horizon on my SD. I was testing dolphin on Ubuntu and Android, and you can actually play GC and Wii games on this way. Is not the same, but works, and actually works better than playing on lakka.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,185
Trophies
1
XP
15,252
Country
United States
lol :rofl2:

I got so far with it and really hated the revised feel of the controls. BUT, since the new update I plan to try playing the rest with a wired GC pad.

there's an update that can use a gc controller? I know I would sometimes get confused with the water nozzle standing or moving being different buttons.
 

Basketto

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
561
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
600
Country
Australia
Tbh plenty of gamecube run fullspeed at 1700 cpu, which is the chips standard clock speed. It is underclocked in horizon to get more battery life from the switch.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,185
Trophies
1
XP
15,252
Country
United States
only the smash controllers, I assume?

I have the entire collection:

20201128_134649_HDR.jpg


I'll have to see if my system updated it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk and KiiWii
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight: Is the guy from that dragonball game :ninja: