Are there any action replay or game genie homebrew apps?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Blasingame, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. Blasingame
    OP

    Newcomer Blasingame Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    I'm want to use cheats on Metroid Prime Gamecube to unlock the Metroid Fusion suit and classic metroid. Are there any homebrew apps or channels that work with inject cheats into gamecube games or any games at all?

    Thanks.
     


  2. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    homebrew no... but if you have a modded or softmodded wii you can download action replay for the gamecube off the net and use that if you downgraded your mios to an older version....

    -kitt050383
     
  3. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Action reply
     
  4. Blasingame
    OP

    Newcomer Blasingame Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    I use the 3.2U firmware and my Wii has HBC and STarfall installed, so softmodding would be downgrading firmware and burn a copy of AR and run it on a loader channel?
     
  5. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    you would just be downgrading the mios for the gamecube operation...
    you have to follow the guide for the gamecube backup loader... install the earliest mios version possible...
    -kitt050383
     
  6. Blasingame
    OP

    Newcomer Blasingame Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Seems like a huge roundabout process, but I guess that is the only available process at this time.

    Edit: I think I found my solution with this.
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Gamecube_Saver
     
  7. Rainy

    Member Rainy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    How would you downgrade just mIOS?
     
  8. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Install an older MIOS Wad.
     
  9. Rainy

    Member Rainy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    which mIOS would be needed to run action replay gamecube?
     
  10. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    mIOs 4 (or was it 5) and lower
     
  11. Rainy

    Member Rainy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for all your help. just gotta find the files.
     
  12. WaRMarinE

    Member WaRMarinE GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Mexico
    Country:
    Mexico
    Ocarina?
     
  13. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Ocarina is for the Wii, once the GC launches anything Wii-related is shut-off.

    And if you still need the wad I have one somewhere
     
  14. Rainy

    Member Rainy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh...I got it but nothing i seem to do works. And im the only person i know who cant get this working!
     
  15. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I can't get even retail action replays to work. I believe I got it once but it hasn't worked since.
     
  16. Rainy

    Member Rainy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    do you get an disc can not be read errror?
     
  17. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No it just doesn't boot the disc, it restarts the Wii after trying for about 5 seconds.
     
  18. Rainy

    Member Rainy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    try reinstalling mIOS?
     
  19. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I've tried that a few times, I've also tried V5 and v8 and using GeckoOS to boot it. However I've yet to try going up to 3.4U and then changing the MIOS back to v4 and trying, except I don't want to do that since its a waste of time when I can just pull out my Gamecube instead.
     
  20. Prince Valmont

    Member Prince Valmont GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so I had MiOS v4 installed (which gives me back the ability to play Action Replay)
    Then I installed the gamecube backup launcher and I can no longer play action replay.

    If I reinstall the MiOS v4, will it nullify the ability to play GC backups?
     

Share This Page