Are there a way to restore a modifed NAND to a clean one w/o a backup?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by barnbebarn, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. barnbebarn
    OP

    Newcomer barnbebarn Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I recently messed with my wii via following a guide and overlooked the step to make a backup of my NAND before actually messin with the wii. I then went and made a backup of the NAND afterwards; After I downgraded the IOS. I am askin if there is a way to restore my NAND to a clean state so that I can make a backup of it. Nothing has happened to my wii other than maybe an orange power off glow rather than a red one. Just that I want to be safe and have a clean NAND so that if my wii does brick, I can use the clean nand rather than the modded one. Anyone can help?
     
  2. DaMan4169

    Newcomer DaMan4169 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    Simple answer NO.

    If you made the backup just after the mod then that about as good as it gets anyway. You really want to have a backup from before you do any big IOS changes like Cioscorp, SM theme, or a few other Major changes.

    If your Wii allowed you to install Bootmii into boot2, NOT as IOS, to make your NAND backup, then you could just do the Ninnty upgrade to remove ALL traces of a mod, then follow the mod a 4.2 Wii and make a clean backup but............

    If it ain't broke don't fix it!!!!

    I'm in no way a guru but I've read enough of these forums to mod a few Wiis without a brick, and recover my own Wii from a bad IOS brick thanks to Bootmii and my after modded NAND backup.
     
  3. pspmte

    Member pspmte GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Simple anser is YES!
    Get a none cios nand dump from bootmii of another wii and use betwiin to rebuild a new dump with your Hmac and Nand keys

    Look for the betwiin forum

    Matte
     
  4. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Could always read one of the "Virginize your Wii" guides, then make a backup, then do what you want to the Wii
     
  5. barnbebarn
    OP

    Newcomer barnbebarn Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, guys.

    I was really regrettin' not backing it up before downgrading my ios, until seein both posts and realizing that there is more than one way to get a clean dump.

    I am goingto tae our advice, pspmte and check out that other forum for further reseach. Thanks again
     
  6. barnbebarn
    OP

    Newcomer barnbebarn Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States

    *Hits head on desk*..... l should have thought of that since you're right. l am goin to do that. Thanks, Riicky
     
  7. HellFireXS

    Newcomer HellFireXS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    make a current backup, virginize your Wii, make a backup of the clean Wii then just restore the modded backup to be exactly where you are now.
     
  8. erolz

    Member erolz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Belgium
    could you please explain to me how to do this?
    Got a 4.1 U Wii with HBC, Ciosrev14, Hermes223 and working Wiiflow loader.
     
  9. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    may be this link could help: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=178...l=virginize+wii

    though on my experience, you cannot really 100% virginize your wii or be at the factory setting state since there will always be traces of soft modification there once your wii is soft modded...not sure with others though...
     
  10. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States

    But it is always dangerous because of the factory bad blocks that will not match the dump.
     

Share This Page