Are the brand new Wii's moddable?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by nastysoda, Jun 26, 2010.

Jun 26, 2010
  1. nastysoda
    OP

    Newcomer nastysoda Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I'd like to get a new Black wii and mod it to play backups on an external HD, but i am worried if they are now shipping with 4.3 on them? Anyone know much about this? Also what are the limitations on the external HD, any size limit? or brand? Thank you
     
  2. lll

    Member lll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You won't see systems with 4.3 in retail stores for at least a month or two. Nintendo pushes the updates to the update servers, and then at some stage after that the factory image is updated, and then those Wiis have to make their way to retail shelves.
     
  3. Lothlorian

    Member Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States
    Ninty does not have a Magical updater to update unsold Wii's on the market. I'm quite certain if you buy a Wii today it WILL NOT have 4.3 on it. It will probably take at least 6 months before it shows up in mass on brand new Wii's
     
  4. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    google usb hd compatibility list

    and google everything else you asked, since in the last couple days theres a million ppl asking the same thing. I think this is the fourth time answering this for me
     
  5. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Look here to find out what HDD to get. I recommend the Iomega 1TB Prestige Desktop Hard Drive USB 2.0.

    4.3 Wii's won't be on the market this soon. It'll take several weeks.
     
  6. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    by the time 4.3 is in stores, we'll be worrying about modding 4.4 [​IMG]
     
  7. Zantagor

    Member Zantagor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Canada

    I just bought one of those today, and no matter what I do, it would freeze after around 5 minutes. Friend of mine has one too and have no issues.

    My Seagate FreeAgent seems to be working relatively well, except for the odd hiccups.


    I feel ike the Iomega has the same hiccups, but does not "survive" them.

    Got any ideas on this?
     
  8. bwillb

    Member bwillb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    yknow hte technology exists that they could if they ever decided that they wanted to package that technology in with the wii [​IMG]
    can't see em doing it though, the cost wouldn't be worth it to them. Plus it would create such an outcry from the press...
     
  9. rafao

    Newcomer rafao Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Brazil
    Great part of wii consoles (more than 70%) are shipping with new 4.3U and a new drive to blocks DVD reads.

    So still actually i use two pendrives to load my games, but i have plan to buy a external HDD in future.
     
  10. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    No. It doesnt. You realize that for this to happen, the wii would have to be providing power to the whole system and the wifi module, connecting to a network that may or may not be protected, is not pre defined, and may not even exist? Not to mention that the wii would have to be powered... meaning the box would have to be plugged in.
     

Share This Page