Are all wireless networks wirless-b and wireless-g?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by airpirate545, Apr 4, 2008.

  1. airpirate545
    OP

    Member airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    I wanted to buy a range extender and it says it supports Wireless-B or Wireless-G networks. Are most or all networks(linksys in particular) those types?
     


  2. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
  3. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    There are 6 ranges IIRC, but those are the standard, so don't worry.
     
  4. jeklnoo

    Member jeklnoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United States
    802.11b & 802.11g are most common. there's an older one (just 802.11), which is slower, and a newer one 802.11n which is faster.
    here's a list
     
  5. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    Isn't there a 802.11a?
     
  6. Sick Wario

    Member Sick Wario Club Nintendo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,206
    Location:
    NNID: godrugal
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    yup there is 802.11a but it's almost exclusive to corporate networks. 5ghz band btw

    honestly i would stick with G for now as N is still not ratified. i believe draft N 2.0 is the most current, but not final
     
  7. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Currently most networks are b or g. Getting n would be of little use as of now, and cost more.
     
  8. airpirate545
    OP

    Member airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    Crap. For some reason, I have the same signal, but my downloads are slower. I haven't bought the range extender, touched the router at all(I can't even do that because my mom won't let me touch it because I ruined our last router). Is there anything I can do to help this without buying anything. (I made sure I don't have any viruses btw.
     
  9. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    95% of wireless hotspots today will be either b, g, or both. Some will be wireless-n draft but these will probably be backwards compatible with b and g networks anyway.

    A few obscure networks may use other 802.11 standards, but that covers just a tiny bit of the market share.
     
  10. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Y'know, you don't need to touch a router to configure it [​IMG] Try typing in "192.168.1.1" into the URL bar of your browser. Depending on the brand of router, that could bring up the router's config stuff. If it asks for a username and password, if your mom hasn't already changed it, try a username of "admin" and a pass of "password". That's usually the default.
     
  11. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's the default for a couple of brands, not all ... different brands = different defaults.
     
  12. airpirate545
    OP

    Member airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    damn, didnt work, guess she changed the login info
     
  13. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The defaults for linksys are :

    Leave the login space blank, and use admin as the password.
     
  14. airpirate545
    OP

    Member airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    thanks, that worked, now what do I change to get it to the normal speed?
     
  15. Sick Wario

    Member Sick Wario Club Nintendo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,206
    Location:
    NNID: godrugal
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    good you are running linksys.

    if you are having signal problems (slow speed, dropped connection) try to navigate to the 'wireless' tab and select a different 'wireless channel'. microwaves, wireless telephones etc all can screw with your network.

    now if you can get you mom away for a bit, you could consider flashing DD WRT firmware onto your linksys for better performance, speed, security and more features in general

    http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv3/
     
  16. airpirate545
    OP

    Member airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try and do that next time I have a day off of school. Also, in most channel changes, the connection goes high, then it drops dramatically. There a reason for that?
    Also, are there any other optimizations I can make?

    Edit: Actually, this happens with a lot of changes that I make. I still haven't found out what's wrong [​IMG] My downloads are still not what theyre supposed to be.
     
  17. noisound

    Member noisound GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    Antarctica
    have you tried connecting directly to your router or modem ?
    when you touched your last router, did you try using the reset button on it ? also to note the internet speed is not affected by what 802.11a-n type it is. its for the local area network, the speed you transfer files between computers connected to the router

    see here for some speedtests

    http://speedtest.dslreports.com
     
  18. RealApprentice

    Newcomer RealApprentice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i bought one of the first wireless-N routers from linksys found it to be incompatible with a lot of b and g hardware like my DS and xbox360. Also the range it covered seemed to fluctuate. Instead of buying and extender could also buy another router. I connected (wired) a second linksys router (wrt54g) to the first one and know have perfect coverage and compatability. And i get the impression that the wrt54g is cheaper than an extender or those special antenna's.
     
  19. airpirate545
    OP

    Member airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    I am seriously worried now. At first, I had 150kbps, then a few months ago it dropped to around 50kbps, now its at 15kbps! [​IMG] Any help please. I'm desperate.
     
  20. airpirate545
    OP

    Member airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    sorry for double post but can anyone help me?
     

Share This Page