Are All The Bad Batches Of the AK2 Gone ?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Splych, Aug 9, 2008.

Aug 9, 2008
  1. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Well for the past few days i have been talking to people thinking about which flashcart to get ?

    My little sister's M3 Real's clips all broke off ( iunno what she does with it if it's just in her DS ! ) and my dad said that he might be buying her another flashcart (lucky duck ... free stuff . )

    So i offered my dad that i would trade my SuperCard for her M3 Real then i would get another flashcart instead of buying a SuperCard for her .

    So yea i was thinking of getting an AceKard 2 instead of the EDGE ( IMO i like it better ! )

    And i was going to tell my dad to get the AceKard 2 from KickGaming ( well sinec we bought from there already . )
    So has anyone bought an AceKard 2 from there ? or at least just recently ?
    Just wanna know if there anyone has gotten a faulty AceKard 2 recently from KickGaming or at least has gotten an AceKard 2 .

    Reply Back ASAP .

    - Echo
     


  2. Chri5

    Member Chri5 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    mine was from deal extreme and i got it 3 days ago so i think all the bad ones are gone
     
  3. imqchummy

    Newcomer imqchummy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Canada
    Well I ordered an AK2 from kickgaming last week and i received it this morning!! So far it's working great! Only TWENY froze during a cutscene but as you read on the forum, I'm not the only one. Anyway I'll keep my M3 Real for this game! So far, so good!
     
  4. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Got mine from DX last Thursday, and it's still kickin' for now. [​IMG]
     
  5. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OzModChips reported that they have had none back from the most recent batch (that was a few weeks ago), plus there haven't been people complaining that theirs is broken recently.

    And I believe someone said that Acekard had fixed the problem and so now all the new ones should work.

    So I think it's safe [​IMG]
     
  6. Chri5

    Member Chri5 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    O.O hopefully!
     
  7. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    I think the BB (Bad Batches) are all gone for the AK2. [​IMG]
     
  8. 13375p34k3r

    Member 13375p34k3r GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Markham, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    WRONG... Wait about a month and then your AK2 will mess up 90% of the time. I also thought that all the bad batches were gone. So I bought a AK2, then lo and behold after a month it screws up my ds...
     
  9. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    They never leave they just repopulate and spring on you when you least expect it. bwahahahaha
     
  10. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So if a month later yours screwed up, it means you got it over a month ago, when there still were bad AKs being sold [​IMG]

    And 90% of the time is a lie, it is closer to 10%. The reason it seems like more, is because people with fully functioning Acekards don't sign up to a forum to ask for help.
     
  11. 13375p34k3r

    Member 13375p34k3r GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Markham, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay maybe its not 90% however it definitely ain't 10%. I've bought and sold over 50 AceKards and 30 of em ended up coming back to me, asking for a return.
     
  12. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh my god, are you psychic or something.

    When my friend over to play DS, after 30 minutes of playing, my previous AK2 got the "FAT Error."
    At the worst time.
     
  13. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    At least I didnt ship mine back at the risk of the store putting it back into circulation. I threw it in the trash. [​IMG] But really now, either they're reselling broken ones, the bad batches got mixed with the good, or they're simply still producing a considerable amount of defectives -- the fact is that on average every once a week or so someone pops in somewhere to report a FAT ERRORing AK2 they recently bought, despite the 'all clear' signal that has been vehiculated. Right now I think it's the most unreliable flashcart, after the N5 ofcourse. The number of faulties is over what I'd consider adequate quality control and fair chance of failing. It's just that now their numbers are high enough to pester clients like you but too low to raise the awareness alarm again. All in all, whatever it was it ain't over yet...

    Also the fact that it they don't immediately break down and it takes them 2-3 weeks is further fueling this false sense of security and making it difficult to create true statistics about the exact number of faulties, or to predict when/if one's cartridge will break down. I encouraged a friend to buy one little before mine broke down, he bought it at the peak of complaints and it's still running fine now. He uses it daily. But the AK2 remains a gamble to an extent that I'd not trust buying one.
     
  14. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    Acekards have a one year warranty, so even if it takes 8 months to die, you're still covered. Also, AFAIK, most resellers are aware of these issues and are completely willing to make things right in the case of a defective ak2. At worst you will be out $23usd. Is $23usd that big of a gamble?
     
  15. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    Not really if you're considering what a good flashcart you have. And you still saved tons of money by playing DS games.

    Also, I don't think there have any bad batches on this forum. Or they're not getting reported.
     
  16. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    It is if you consider that you can get something more reliable for that money. And there was one report here just this month. Another on DX's forum. Sure they're not as many as before, reports are down by about 80% compared to the peak period but they're still there.
     
  17. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you are really exaggerating the problem, there have barely been any compared to a few months ago, which indicates that they have indeed fixed the problem.

    The last report was about 3 weeks ago.

    Plus even at the 'peak' most still worked, like mine for example. There are likely a huge number of people who get them, and if they break they will search for a fix and GBAtemp will be one of the first sites that appear, and thus you get lots of people signing up specially for that, but not for ones that work correctly.
     
  18. zhuzhuchina

    Member zhuzhuchina GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    Shanghai
    Country:
    China
    however let me say that ak2 overall quality isn't very high, there are still some small problems, sometimes need to extract and insert again the card, and side clip very easy to broke.
    it seems very easy to broke respect other flashcard...
     
  19. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Not to mention my friend who still has his running gets a considerable number of FAT ERRORs or stuck on LOADING(10% of time) on startup whatever the memory used. That's a sign of bad build quality there.
     
  20. Skydancer

    Newcomer Skydancer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Germany
    Ok we bought 3 AK2 from DX (in June), each with a difference between a Week.
    Each has a 4 GB A-Data C6 SD. We use the Card every Day.
     

Share This Page