Archived .iso's to DVD?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by silent sniper, Jul 27, 2008.

Jul 27, 2008

Archived .iso's to DVD? by silent sniper at 9:32 PM (2,483 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. silent sniper
    OP

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    well, I recently got my wii modded and I just downloaded Okami. Only problem is that the .iso is in a .rar archive and I can't extract it (it says I don't have a particular system or something, it think it said I didnt have NTSAF pr NSTAF), so I was wondering, could I burn the archive straight to the DVD and will it work in my wii?
     


  2. madri1

    Member madri1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    France
    extract with winrar
     
  3. silent sniper
    OP

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried several times. Says I can't because I dont have NTSAF and it says it's over 4GB (which it ain't, I got it pre-scrubbed)
     
  4. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    You wont be able to extract it to a FAT32 formatted drive, the size limit for that system is 4GB~, the ISO is bigger than that, I that's your problem. You can't burn the RAR file to a DVD and then play it, you need to burn the ISO extracted from the RAR.


    Size for the scrubbed version of Okami: 3.93 GB (4,216,498,845 bytes), It may be too close to the 4GB, I'm not really sure, try with another HDD.
     
  5. silent sniper
    OP

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    well, since I cant extract it, how am I supposed to burn it? I'll try extracting to another hard drive.
     
  6. Christen

    Member Christen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Canada
    Google for converting your hard drive to NTFS. That should solve it.
     
  7. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doesn't matter, the game will still be over 4gb once it's extracted!

    To convert a drive from FAT32 to NTFS you can do the following.

    Goto start, run and type in the box

    convert C: /FS:NTFS

    Replace C: with whatever drive letter you need to convert. Agree to everything it says, then sit back and wait. If it is the C: drive you're converting then it will do the conversion when you reboot.

    This IS safe, that said don't blame me if something does go wrong and you lose all your files. I've done it countless times and never had one fail, but if you have a power cut in the middle of the conversion you will lose everything.

    This is all assuming you're running Windows 2000, XP or Vista. Earlier versions only supported FAT32 and as such will never be able to handle 4gb+ files.
     
  8. silent sniper
    OP

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, so If i convert my hard drive properly, all my files should still be there? Im using XP


    also, should it be "Convert C:/" or "Format C:/" ?
     
  9. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep. Everything will be exactly the same but you'll be using a considerably better filesystem.

    DONT DO FORMAT!

    It's exactly as I said in my post!

    convert c: /fs:ntfs
     
  10. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    All your files will still be there after converting. That been said, ideally it is far better to format a drive to NTFS then to convert it from FAT32 to NTFS. I believe it's something to do with the cluster size.
     
  11. silent sniper
    OP

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    okay, but again, what do i use? I found a tutorial that says to use "FORMAT D:/FS:NTFS" nad you said "CONVERT D:/FS:NTFS"

    D:/ is the drive I'm wanting to change
     
  12. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you format you will lose everything. If you convert, there is a very small chance you will.
     
  13. Whizz

    Member Whizz When things don't go right, go left.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Turn around...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Do not use Format or you will lose all your files!
     
  14. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's definitely convert. I've done this at least a hundred times, if not more. I run a computer shop, this is how I make a living. [​IMG]

    so for the D: drive it would be

    convert d: /fs:ntfs

    Just like that. If you format D: then you'll wipe the drive of everything.
     
  15. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    This should be everything you need.
    Convert
     
  16. silent sniper
    OP

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    oh, okay. so that's everything I need to do?

    how long does it take? are there any steps after I do this ihave to do?

    I need to be completely sure. I have some very important files on the drive i wanna change
     
  17. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Just make sure you have some free space for converting. Time length will vary as it depends on the size of the partition you are converting.
     
  18. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's it. That's all you need to do.

    How long it takes depends on how big the drive is, how many files you have on it and how much free space there is.

    Once it's finished, you can start using it right away.

    Enjoy!

    Edit : If you have anything on there that is really that important then make a backup of it first. Copy it to another drive or burn it to disk.

    If it's that important you should be backing it up regularly anyway.
     
  19. silent sniper
    OP

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, thanks. I'll do it now.

    edit: Command Prompt is acting all weird. It starts off saying "C:\Document and Settings\user" and I can't backspace or anything. and the drive I'm trying to convert is D!
     
  20. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's fine, that's just the directory you're in. It has no effect on what you're doing.

    Just follow the instructions, it'll work fine.
     

Share This Page