AR cheat code to adjust brightness setting ingame

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by 111111111, May 10, 2007.

  1. 111111111
    OP

    Member 111111111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    I tried searching to see if this had been posted before, but couldn't find it.

    Adjust the brightness level whilst playing game. Hold L + R + SELECT then press UP or DOWN.

    CODE
    Â Backlight control
    Â Hold L+R+SELECT then press UP to increase brightness or DOWN to decrease brightness
    Â 94000130 FCFB0000 023FE074 012FFF11 E0000000 000000A8 E28F0001 E12FFF10 A21AB5F0 88234C24 Â80138811 d02a428b 25803490 f0002000 1c06f82a f0002004 2703f826 21404007 d003420b 420b2180 e018d00c 4231210c 2f03d006 1c79d013 f0002004 e00ef816 e0094331 438e210c 2f001c31 1e79d004 f0002004 e002f80a f0002000 bcf0f806 4718bc08 30800000 88222100 d1fc422a 80224a08 88208060 d1fc4228 80220c12 88228061 d1fc422a 21ff8860 47704008 04000130 80028802 023FE074 E3520003 d2000000 00000000


    all thanks to chishm original post HERE.

    Anyone fancy taking the full usrcheat.dat for the R4 and adding this code for every game? ;> Maybe if enough of us ask the R4 people on their forums if they could add it as a option in the cheat menu they would.
     
  2. m2pt5

    Member m2pt5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    GMT-5
    Country:
    United States
    Two questions:

    1. Does it work on the R4?
    2. Does it work (or simply fail) on the DS Phat?
     
  3. 111111111
    OP

    Member 111111111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    yes, it works on the R4 - I've tested it (in new super mario bros) and it is fine.

    for phat DS use this code instead:

    CODEcheat>
    Â Backlight control (Phat)
    Â Hold L+R+SELECT then press UP to turn on screens or DOWN to turn off screens
    Â 94000130 fcfb0000 c2000001 00000080 a21cb5f0 88234c1c 80138811 d019428b 25803490 f0002000 1c06f818 420b2140 2180d003 d005420b 210ce00c d1094231 e0044331 4231210c 438ed004 20001c31 f805f000 bc08bcf0 30804718 88222100 d1fc422a 80224a09 88208060 d1fc4228 80220c12 88228061 d1fc422a 21ff8860 47704008 00000000 04000130 80028802 d2000000 00000000
     
  4. -EX-

    Banned -EX- Racer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    I remember chishm saying that this is the special feature of NitroHax and therefore won't work on the original ActionReplay or other clones. So...if it really DOES work on R4, as you say, then chishm must have helped R4 team with a cheat engine in the first place. Ha, and now you remember him yelling that his software is pure, and will never work with roms and all us pirates should die and perish. The irony.

    What's more, it makes sense. All the flashcards got cheat engine JUST AFTER chishm released NitroHax. First DSLink, then R4/M3DSS, then SCONE. He just sold them the source, easily.
     
  5. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    It will be implemented in FlashME v8b shortly, if you're willing to wait ... [​IMG]
     
  6. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    this is pretty neat, I won't bother with it.. I just always have my DS on full brightness [​IMG]


    and slightly related; chism's done good things for the DS, but his sense of elitism makes it hard for me to appreciate it at all.
    I can understand someone not liking pirates, sure, but the childish jabs he makes, and attempts at splitting communities is pathetic
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @-EX- I am no fan of elitism but reverse engineering is very much possible and somewhat of a forte for the flash cart companies. Not to mention this was discussed in the flashme v8 thread.

    Oh and anyone with a newer original style DS, can you get multiple backlight without flashme?

    edit:
    as for adding for every game could not something simple be rigged up with copy /b and a batch file?
     
  8. 111111111
    OP

    Member 111111111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    I had a pink ds phat (the nintendogs one) and brand new out of the box it had backlight adjustment (like the ds lite) and it came with a ds lite stylus (rather than the scrawny thin phat ds stylus).

    On other flash carts you could probably copy /b to the individual .cht files but the R4 uses it's own consolidated .dat file. I suppose one way would be to download every .xml file you wanted, copy in the code to them using a batch file and then use the r4 cheat code editor to make them into usrcheat.dat. I'm too lazy though - easier to hassle the r4 team into adding it as a menu option.. =]
     
  9. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Hmm, it works fine with R4. Yay! [​IMG]
     
  10. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Here, I wrote a program to add this code in for every game in an XML file.
    Just click "...", load an XML file from ARDS Code Manager, click "Go", wait (it takes a while), then enjoy!

    Download
     
  11. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Actually, this is the modified code that worlks on real action replays (It doesn't have any C2XXXXXX XXXXXXXX bits in it that only work with Nitro Hax)
     
  12. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, where does loopy say that? I looked through the entire Flashme v8 thread on gbadev and could not find any mention of a v8b.
     
  13. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Discussion on IRC. [​IMG]
    Loopy didn't say it - chishm merely requested 2 free KiBs in FlashME for his backlight handler. Let's see what happens. [​IMG]
     
  14. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    After I patch my XML code file, I can't open it up with the R4DS Cheat Editor. An error message "The XML format is error" pops up. What do I do?

    EDIT: Sweet program by the way, thanks!
     
  15. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, well I knew about that, it was in the flashme v8 thread. Loopy then said that he didn't have enough room right now but will try to trim some stuff. Nothing's confirmed yet...
     
  16. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'll look into it later today. (didn't actually compile it into a usrcheat, probably should have)
     
  17. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
  18. fritz

    Newcomer fritz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    If you had any brains you would have checked your facts before putting your foot in your mouth. The code posted above is a modified version for use with the original Action Replay. In fact, it uses kenobi's AR hack which ONLY works on the original AR engine. If you tried that exact code in NitroHax, it would fail. This proves that the R4 uses a ripped version of the AR engine, and NOT Nitro Hax.

    As for your "theory" (more like baseless finger pointing) about selling the source to all the manufacturers, did it ever occur to you that the manufacturers are all copy-cat pirates who steal both code and ideas?

    So you're not happy with just targetting his morality, but you've also got to accuse him of making money from stealing. I bet you don't care and will still use his backlight code. Go crawl back into the hole you came from.
     
  19. cheesyPOOF5

    Member cheesyPOOF5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    Or they stole it from him - the normal business of flashcart companies.
     
  20. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore

Share This Page