Apparently, the AceKard 2 Has Stopped Production.

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Splych, Dec 20, 2008.

Dec 20, 2008
  1. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    I was talking with the digimartz.com Admin. I was curious about when they would stop the sale on their AceKard 2.

    Then they said they aren't re-stocking since the AceKard 2 production has stopped.

    Is this true or is this some marketing scheme to get us to buy other flashcarts?

    Here is the chat we had:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     


  2. s0nicfreak

    Newcomer s0nicfreak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    near chicago
    Country:
    United States
    aren't they making 2.1s instead
     
  3. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    HAHA! seems like that guy is trying to get rid of his stock of fake R4's [​IMG]
     
  4. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    @ S0nic ~ Yea. Apparently, their 2.1s are out of stock and aren't being produced anymore?

    @Norm ~ Agreed. But I am not gonna fall for it again when getting an R4...
     
  5. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    As far as i know the AK2 is still in production, But thats not to say they haven't stopped production of it in favor of the AK2i.
     
  6. maybeamac

    Newcomer maybeamac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Australia
    Been having a fight with Dealextreme the past few days about a missing acekard parcel.

    Their response just then was

    "I have checked with our warehouse and they said the item is sold out and even the supplier do not have 11811 any more. I am afraid it can not become available again".

    It may just be there poor english or they are saying that they can't get anymore in?
     
  7. Diosoth

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    That would mean they can't get anymore fromtheir supplier, yes.

    I would say that since the 2i is DS, DS Lite and DSi compatible, all production has likely shifted.
     
  8. ShAdOwFuRi

    Member ShAdOwFuRi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Australia
    but it's so much more damned expensive!! It's not like everyone who has a DS will decide to get DSi anyway...
     
  9. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    weird.

    it could just be its so popular that even suppliers are selling out.
     
  10. maybeamac

    Newcomer maybeamac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Australia
    But why would they say

    I am afraid it can not become available again
     
  11. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    Man I got lucky! I bought my Acekard2 only a few days before they announced the Acekard2i. Got one of the last in stock! What sucks is that I may not need it now. I might be willing to sell it for anyone interested.
     
  12. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what sucks more is the possibility of no more firmware updates.........

    shit, i knew i should have bought an edge....
     
  13. ShAdOwFuRi

    Member ShAdOwFuRi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Australia
    o you're right... Maybe the AKAIO makers could do it instead =]
     
  14. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    WTF? I ordered an AK2 from DX a week ago, damn them D:
     
  15. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I had already expected this. They'll be mass producing the AceKard 2i, and when more DSi compatible carts are released (DSTTi, EZ-Flash Vi, probably CycloDS iVolution) the price will be lower.

    I've ordered the AK2.1 a while ago. I hope I'll get it, but I think I won't... Damn...
    Don't worry about that. The AK2i uses the same firmware updates as the AK2.1/AK2, so support won't stop anytime soon. Besides, there's always AKAIO.
     
  16. skyman747

    Member skyman747 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    United States
    The acekard 2i and 2.1 are identical except for a minorly altered boot loader. The firmware updates apply for both cards.
     
  17. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    If you don't want it, consider selling it to a friend. I think that will be better worth your money instead of selling it online where rarely no one will buy from you.
     
  18. enarky

    Member enarky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Country:
    I wouldn't believe a word from someone who offers a R4 as a replacement for an Acekard. A R4, of all cards! What an asshole.
     
  19. owmyballs

    Newcomer owmyballs Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    DX says that they will have them in stock the 25th.

    Back Ordered - ETA 12/25/2008 (6 days)
     
  20. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's not that I wouldn't want a AceKard 2i, I just don't want to pay more for it. Luckily, I don't have to [​IMG] I'll just wait 5 days, and DX will probably ship my AK2.1.
     

Share This Page