App to convert between TPL (IA4) and PNG?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by damysteryman, Feb 22, 2010.

Feb 22, 2010
  1. damysteryman
    OP

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hi everyone,

    Is there a Windows app that is capable of converting a certain TPL, specifically TPL type IA4 (type IA4 has an alpha channel), to and from PNG format?

    I need it for a "secret project"...

    I need to edit TPLs that are type IA4, and when the editing is done, it has to be converted back to IA4, as no other TPL type will be accepted by the "secret project".

    Thanks in advance,
    da_letter_a
     
  2. sirakain

    Newcomer sirakain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    France
    Try customize Mii... I think it can.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
  4. damysteryman
    OP

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thanks guys. I'll try CustomizeMii 2.2.
     
  5. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know that the Wii.au3 tools that pbsds is making support every type of TPL but there still in development [​IMG]

    Yes CUstomizemii 2.2 is your best bet or compiling the latest revision from the google code...
     
  6. wilsoff

    Member wilsoff GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    292
    Country:
    United States
  7. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Need to be logged into the forums [​IMG]
     
  9. spayrosam

    Member spayrosam GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Location:
    Gafsa
    Country:
    Tunisia
    convert tpl to png-JPG-..



    CODE

    for %%A in ( *.tpl ) do (set tpl=%%A)
    tplx *.tpl *.tga
    rename *.tga %tpl%.tga
    convert %tpl%.tga %tpl%.png
    del *.tga
     
  10. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for that spayrosam, kudos

    EDIT

    bat doesnt seem to work tho
     
  11. spayrosam

    Member spayrosam GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Location:
    Gafsa
    Country:
    Tunisia
    CODE@echo off

    :start
    if not exist tpl md tpl
    if not exist images md images
    if not exist tpls md tpls
    for %%A in ( *.tpl ) do (set tpl=%%A)
    move *.tpl tpls
    cd tpls
    move "%tpl%" ..\
    cd..
    tplx.exe *.tpl *.tga
    ren *.tga %tpl%.tga
    convert %tpl%.tga %tpl%.png
    move *.png Images
    del *.tga
    move *.tpl tpl
    cd tpls
    if exist *.tpl move *.tpl ..\
    cd..
    if exist *.tpl goto start
    rmdir /S /Q tpls

    end
     
  12. Leathl

    Member Leathl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Berlin
    Country:
    Germany
    That's because it's in the beta section where only admins/mods/beta testers have access [​IMG]
     
  13. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    excellent works a charm
    extra kudos
     
  14. pbsds

    Newcomer pbsds Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Røros
    Country:
    Norway
    Sorry, but it only supports from png to RGBA8, RGB565 and RGB5A3.
    But it supports from all tpl formats to png!
    BTW, the development has stopped, i have moved over to python.
     
  15. GHBAimen

    Member GHBAimen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    Sweden
    Do we know anything about the .T64-files in the WAD files, which usually are to be in the same place as the game/rom? 0...05.app have them .T64-files!

    EDIT: I imagine that .T64-file is a patch for the game. Or texture change. Is it possible to change/look at these files?
     
  16. pbsds

    Newcomer pbsds Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Røros
    Country:
    Norway
    I can't find that file. :/
    Is it in WiiWare or VC?(only checked vc)
     
  17. damysteryman
    OP

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    T64 files are usually found in the 00000005.app file from an unpacked N64 vc wad.

    I too am interested in the .T64 file format. I hope you can learn how to edit them, then teach us...
     
  18. GHBAimen

    Member GHBAimen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    Sweden
    I know that you can delete them .T64 files and the game works. But the change is that the .WAD file using the original textures of the game/rom, not .T64 files. An example is The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time!
     

Share This Page